2015 Monterey GP Qualifying was quite exciting

  • Tudor USCC Monterey GP Qualifying, 2015

The practice for the Monterey Grand Prix at the famous Laguna Seca began at 7:15pm ET under ideal conditions with GT Daytona class cars first on track. John Potter took an early lead in his Porsche 911, but was soon overtaken by Bean Keating’s Dodge Viper and then Patrick Lindsey in a Porsche. Lindsey managed a 1:28.337 and soon increased the lead with 1:27.579 and 1:27.040. Lindsey was followed by Marc Miller who did 1:28.031, Dion Von Moltke with 1:28.031 and Ben Keating with 1:28.267. On fifth, there was John Potter with 1:28.319 and he was followed by Christina Nielsen who did 1:28.849.


This was followed by the Prototype Challenge where Mike Guasch managed a 1:29.507 and soon took an early lead. He was overtaken by Jon Bennett with 1:25.236. Chris Cumming did 1:23.363 to get to the first position and soon after, he increased his lead with 1:22.679. He was closely followed by Mark Guasch with 1:22.897. Cumming improved his time to 1:22.565 and Guasch was very close with 1:22.569. In the last laps, Mikhail Goikhberg and Mike Guasch crashed, but Guasch managed to hold his second place. James French was third with 1:22.689 and behind him were Jon Bennett, Mirco Schultis, Mikhail Goikhberg and Todd Slusher.


The first driver to lead in GT Le Mans class was Tommy Milner in a Corvette C7.R with 1:37.125, but Patrick Pilet took over the lead by doing 1:25.271 and 1:24.006 in a Porsche 911 RSR. Michael Christensen did 1:23.485 and went to first, but Pilet returned with 1:22.708. Christensen was behind with 1:22.788. However, Lucas Luhr managed to lap Laguna Seca in 1:22.610 in a BMW Z4 GTE, but soon ran off track. Dirk Werner was on first position with 1:22.423 in a Z4 GTE as well, and improved his lead by doing a record breaking 1:22.362. Despite his spin, Lucas Luhr stayed on second with 1:22.610, and was followed by Pierre Kaffer, Patrick Pilet, Tommy Milner, Michael Christensen, Antonio Garcia and Wolf Henzler.

Jordan Taylor wins Prototype pole with 1:18.178

Jordan Taylor wins Prototype pole with 1:18.178

The Prototype class cars were the last to compete for pole and Christian Fittipaldi took the early lead with 1:36.125 in a Corvette DP. Scott Pruett did 1:22.279 and climbed to first in a Ford EcoBoost Riley DP and increased his lead by doing 1:20.145. However, Jordan Taylor got the lead with 1:19.809 and 1:18.966. He improved his time to 1:18.718, and Scott Pruett was behind with 1:18.940. Michael Valiante was on third, followed by John Pew, Fittipaldi, Katherine Legge, Eric Curran, Tristan Nunez and Tom Long.

The race is scheduled tomorrow at 4PM ET, and we expect some more great driving at Laguna Seca!






Related Posts