2015 Race of Champions: Andy Priaulx and Jose Maria Lopez completed the line-up

November 13, 2015
Featured, News
Marijan Malcevic

Multiple World Touring Car Champions Andy Priaulx and José Maria Lopez have completed a drivers line-up for 2015 Race of Champions, scheduled for November 20-21 at London’s former Olympic Stadium. Now all the names are revealed, so for seven days we will see the battle of ten teams in ROC Nations Cup and 20 individual drivers will fight for Champion of Champions title.


Three-time WTCC champion Priaulx will partner fellow touring car great and a rival from BTCC Jason Plato on Team England 1, while current double WTCC champion Lopez will partner IndyCar driver and 2014 Indy 500 winner Ryan Hunter-Reay for Team Americas.




Priaulx took four consecutive touring car titles between 2004 and 2007. In 2004 he was European champion and after that three times World champion. In the meantime he competed all over the world, recorded two seasons in DTM and returned to BTCC in 2015. Priaulx has a fine Race Of Champions record too, having reached two ROC Nations Cup finals – first in 2009 alongside F1 world champion Jenson Button, then in 2010 with Jason Plato. He will now be reunited with Plato as they aim to go even further for Team England 1 next Friday.


“What a great way to end a busy season – joining all my fellow champions in a fun head-to-head battle. Same cars, same track: it will be an epic challenge. I love this event. Fredrik Johnsson and his team put on a great show so I can’t wait to get there and catch up with everyone,” said Priaulx.




Jose Maria ‘Pechito’ Lopez earlier this month took his second WTCC title. Despite strong competition from world-famous Citroën team-mates Yvan Muller and Sébastien Loeb, Lopez has dominated each of the last two years, winning both titles with races to spare. Before WTCC Lopez had already competed in a wide range of different series including GP2, Formula 3000, ALMS and FIA GT. Lopez has also been a test driver for the Renault F1 team and he was even lined up to race for the USF1 team that ultimately failed to make the grid in 2010. Such a variety of experience comes in handy at the Race Of Champions, where he will also partner Indianapolis 500 winner Ryan Hunter-Reay for the second time following his debut last year in Barbados.


“This has been another great year for me and this invitation to the Race Of Champions is the perfect way to cap it off. This year the pressure was on and the competition with my team-mates was harder than ever so to to win the championship three races early was an amazing result. Now I can look forward to racing my fellow champions next week in London. The line-up is amazing with great drivers from all over the world so we now look forward to putting on a great show for the crowds,” said Lopez.


The drivers line-up includes F1 stars Jenson Button, Sebastian Vettel, Daniel Ricciardo, Romain Grosjean, Nico Hülkenberg and Felipe Massa, new Lotus F1 Team driver Jolyon Palmer and Williams Martini Racing’s test driver Susie Wolff, ‘Mr Le Mans’ Tom Kristensen, reigning World Rallycross Champion Petter Solberg, reigning Formula E Champion Nelson Piquet Jr, multiple BTCC champion Jason Plato, 2014 Indy 500 winner Ryan Hunter-Reay, Blancpain Endurance Series Champion Alex Buncombe, 2015 DTM Champion Pascal Wehrlein, reigning ROC Champion of Champions David Coulthard plus MotoGP world champions Mick Doohan and Jorge Lorenzo.


Photo: raceofchampions.com

Related Posts