ADAC F4 Nürburgring: Sunday's winners are Mawson and Preining

  • ADAC F4, Nurburgring

Joey Mawson (Van Amersfoort Racing) and Thomas Preining (Lechner Racing) are the winners of two Sunday’s races of the ADAC F4 Championship at Nürburgring.

The 20-year-old Australian Mawson scored his seventh win of the season in the morning race to further extend his lead in the championship standings. Mawson started from pole and remained in the lead until the chequered flag, ahead of two rookies – Juri Vips (Prema Powerteam) and Nicklas Nielsen (Neuhauser Racing).

Mick Schumacher, Mawson’s closest rival in the championship and winner of Saturday’s race, finished the race empty handed. He gets a drive-through penalty after a contact with Mawson while fighting for the lead and dropped to 15th place.

Behind the leading trio, three more rookies Juan Manuel Correa, Richard Verschoor and Felipe Drugovich took positions from P4 to P6. Thomas Preining, Kim-Luis Schramm, Jonathan Aberdein and Cedric Piro completed the Top 10.

Joey Mawson, ADAC F4

Joey Mawson is the ADAC F4 Championship leader

In the afternoon’s race Thomas Preining, who started third, took the lead immediatelly after the lights were on, ahead of pole-sitter Jannes Fittje. In the following laps Juri Vips managed to overtake Fittje for the second place.

Behind the leading trio Mick Schumacher was in the fourth place, until the race was interrupted by Safety car on Lap 9. After the restart, Schumacher took P3 from Fittje. Few laps later, Michael Schumacher’s son progressed for one more place to take his second podium of the weekend. Juri Vips also took his second podium in two races, ahead of Jannes Fittje.

Joey Mawson was fighting for fifth against Richard Verschoor but the championship leader gets a drive-through penalty, which was converted to a 30-second time penalty, so he finished 28th.

In the points standings after 18 races, Mawson has 297 points. Mick Schumacher has 251 points and he is the only driver who can spoil Mawson’s way to win the championship title in the remaining two rounds at Zandvoort and Hockenheim.

Check the full results of ADAC F4 races at Nurburgring


Related Posts