Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup season is closed at Estoril

  • Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup, Estoril race start

Will Palmer (R-ace GP) and Sacha Fenestraz (Tech 1 Racing) are the winners of the final round of the 2016 Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup, which took place at Autodromo Fernanda Pires da Silva in Estoril. It was the first visit of the Eurocup to Estoril since 2008.

Lando Norris (Josef Kaufmann Racing) secured the title before the final event, so he came relaxed to Estoril’s racing weekend. Despite that, he didn’t lost a motivation and secured the pole position for Saturday’s race. Norris was in the lead until the last lap, when he collided with Max Defourny and both dropped down in the order. Will Palmer, who started second on the grid, was on P3 in the moment of Norris-Defourny incident. He inherited the lead and scored his maiden FR 2.0 Eurocup victory. Hugo de Sadeleer (Tech 1 Racing) and Robert Shwartzman (SMP Racing/Josef Kaufmann Racing) completed the podium.

Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup, Estoril, Will Palmer

The race 1 winner Will Palmer

In the Sunday’s race, Sacha Fenestraz started from pole and remained in front until the checkered flag. After 15 laps, he crossed the finish line with 1.9sec advantage over Lando Norris. Norris started third on the grid and stole the second place from Max Defourny.

Dorian Boccolacci (Tech 1 Racing) showed a great performance and progressed from seventh to fourth, ahead of Henrique Chaves and Robert Shwartzman. With plenty of new points, Boccolacci finished second in the final classification of the 2016 FR 2.0 Eurocup season.

In the teams’ standings, the title fight was open until the last race. The Josef Kaufmann Racing take the championship title with 334 points, ahead of Tech 1 Racing (319.5 points).

Check the full results of Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup races


Related Posts