Third consecutive Xfinity Series win for Kyle Busch

  • Kyle Busch, Xfinity Series, Indianapolis

Kyle Busch continues his winning streak with third consecutive Xfinity Series victory in Saturday’s Lilly Diabetes 250 race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. It was also second in a row victory in the NXS race at the Brickyard. In eleven Xfinity starts this season, Busch took seven wins, extending his series record to 83 wins.

Prior to Saturday’s main race, Busch also won the first heat in the Dash 4 Cash event, but he didn’t win the $100,000 bonus, because the prize is available only to series regulars. That check went to Justin Allgaier, who finished in fifth place, the highest finisher among the four drivers who was eligible for the prize.

Video: Kyle Busch wins Lilly Diabetes 250

In the Lilly Diabetes 250, Busch led 62 of 63 laps to hold off Kevin Harvick in overtime. Paul Menard finished third, Kyle Larson was fourth. Busch was only on the old tires while his chasers had a new rubber after they pitted under the caution on lap 50. That caution was caused by Busch’s teammate Erik Jones, he crashed out after right rear tire blew up.

Busch remained in the lead at the restart on lap 54, but a lap later, Ray Black Jr. and Harrison Rhodes wrecked off to one more caution and overtime. On the Lap 62 restart, Harvick and Larson battled for second, Busch pulled away and crossed the finish line 0.411 seconds ahead of Harvick.

Check the full results of the Lilly Diabetes 250


Related Posts