ADAC GT Masters at Zandvoort: 1-2 win for Land Motorsport Audis

  • Land Motorsport's Audis at Zandvoort, ADAC GT Masters

Connor de Phillippi and Christopher Mies are the winners of the second ADAC GT Masters race at Circuit Park Zandvoort in the #1 Montaplast by Land-Motorsport Audi R8 LMS. After two podiums earlier in the season, it’s the first win for defending ADAC GT champions.

In the action packed wet race, interrupted by four Safety Car periods, they won ahead of teammates in the #2 Audi Christopher Haase and Jeffrey Schmidt. Florian Spengler and Christopher Zanella completed a podium after faltless performance in the #6 HB Racing Lamborghini Huracan GT3.

ADAC GT Masters Zandvoort

Grasser Racing Team didn’t convert pole position into positive result

Mirko Bortolotti started a race from pole position in the #19 Grasser Racing Team Lamborghini Huracan GT3 and stayed in the lead until lap 4, when some technical issues forced him to enter the pit and retired. Maxi Gotz in the #84 Mercedes-AMG GT3 inherited a lead, ahead of #63 Grasser Lamborghini Huracan driven by Christian Engelhart.

Another misfortune hit the Grasser Racing Team on lap 11, when Engelhart collided with Kelvin van der Linde in the #3 Aust Motorsport Audi R8. Both cars ended out of the track in a gravel trap. Safety Car was out after that incident.

An accident promoted yesterday’s winner in the #77 Callaway Competition Corvette Renger van der Zande to the second place, with Christopher Haase in the #2 Land Motorsport Audi behimd him. The pit window for driver changes was opened during a Safety Car period.

After all teams made their pit stops, Jeffrey Schmidt in the #2 Land-Motorsport Audi was in the lead, ahead of Jules Gounon (#77 Callaway Corvette), Florian Spengler (#6 HB Racing Lamborghini) and Marco Mapelli (#7 HB Racing Lamborghini).

The #84 Mercedes dropped to fifth place with Patrick Assenhaimer driving. He crashed out on Lap 18, causing one more Safety Car intervention. On the restart, Jeffrey Schmidt defended his lead ahead of teammate Connor de Phillippi in the #1 Audi. The third Safety Car intervention came on lap 23 when Nikolaj Rogivue went out in the turn 1.

On the final restart, with three and half minutes on a clock, Connor de Phillippi stole the lead. A moment after that Nick Catsburg (BMW) and Sven Barth (Corvette) crashed heavily, causing the fourth Safety Car intervention which lasted until checkered flag.

Check the full results of ADAC GT Masters races


Related Posts