Philip Ellis is the 2017 Audi Sport TT Cup champion

  • Philip Ellis 2017 Audi TT Cup champion
  • Philip Ellis 2017 Audi TT Cup champion

Philip Ellis has won the 2017 Audi Sport TT Cup title in the season’s finale at Hockenheimring. The 25-year-old Briton secured a title by winning the first race of the final round on Sunday morning, which he won after starting from pole. The Spaniard Mikel Azcona and the South African Keagan Masters completed a podium.

As Ellis extended a lead over Azcona to 28 points, the last race on Sunday afternoon was just a formality for him. In the second race, Ellis was on a pole again but Azcona won the race. Ellis was second, Drew Ridge was third.

Philip Ellis, Audi Sport TT Cup

Philip Ellis has won a prize of 150,000 euros

After the Pole Jan Kisiel (2015) and the Finn Joonas Lappalainen (2016), Philip Ellis is the third champion of the Audi one-make cup, in the last season of this competition.

In his championship winning season, Philip Ellis was a race winner five times in thirteen races. He was awarded with a promotion package of 150,000 euros in the Audi Sport customer racing program next season.

Check the full results of Audi Sport TT Cup finale


Related Posts