2017 Rallye Monte Carlo official entry list revealed

January 3, 2017
Featured, News
Marijan Malcevic

  • 2017 Rallye Monte Carlo

The official entry list for the 2017 Rallye Monte Carlo is published. The opening event of the 2017 World Rally Championship season will take place from January 18 to January 21 on the mountain roads around Gap and Monaco. 75 crews are on the list, ten of them in the new-generation World Rally Cars.

The entrants from four teams which will compete full season with 2017-spec 380hp machines were announced earlier and there were no surprises. M-Sport’s drivers at Rallye Monte-Carlo will be Sebastien Ogier (#1), Ott Tanak (#2) and Elfyn Evans (#3). Hyundai Motorsport will also run three cars for Hayden Paddon (#4), Thierry Neuville (#5) and Dani Sordo (#6).

The international combination in three Citroens would be Kris Meeke (#7), Stephane Lefebvre (#8) and Craig Breen (#12). Meeke and Lefebvre will run new C3 cars, Breen will drive DS3 WRC. Toyota Gazoo Racing will run two cars for the all-Finnish line-up of Jari-Matti Latvala (#10) and Juho Hanninen (#11).

Besides entries in the 2017-spec WRC cars, it’s more interesting to see who will run cars in other classes, including some drivers who lost their seats compared to 2016 WRC season. Former Volkswagen’s driver Andreas Mikkelsen re-joined Škoda Motorsport to collect points in the WRC 2 class with Škoda Fabia R5. Other drivers with the same car will be Jan Kopecky, Max Rendina and Armin Kremer.

Monte Carlo Rally – The Oldest Race in the World


M-Sport’s driver Eric Camilli also made a step back from WRC car to R5 machine. He would compete with Ford Fiesta R5, same as Bryan Bouffier, Giandomenico Basso and Andrea Crugnola. Four more entrants in the WRC 2 category are Quentin Gilbert (Hyundai i20 R5), Quentin Giordano (Peugeot 208 T16), Yoann Bonato and Emil Bergkvist (both Citroen DS3 R5). There are few more ‘big names’ with R5 cars but not eligible for WRC 2 points, such are Kevin Abbring (i20 R5), Pontus Tidemand (Fabia R5) or Simone Tempestini (DS3 R5).

The only driver who enters WRC Trophy class, for 2016-spec WRC cars, is Greek Jourdan Serderidis. He will drive Citroen DS3 WRC. There are four entrants in the RGT Cup. Romain Dumas will drive his old Porsche 997 GT3 against three all-new Fiat 124 Abarth Rally cars. One of the drivers would be WRC veteran Francois Delecour, the other two are Italians Fabio Andolfi and Gabriele Noberasco.

Click here to see full entry list at official website of the Automobile Club de Monte Carlo.

Photos: acm.mc

Related Posts