World RX: Kristoffersson stops Ekstrom's winning streak

  • Johan Kristoffersson, WRX, Belgium
  • World RX Belgium, PSRX Volkswagen Sweden
  • World RX Belgium podium

Johan Kristoffersson (PSRX Volkswagen Sweden) wins the World RX event at Circuit Jules Tacheny in Mettet, Belgium. With a victory in the fourth round of the 2017 FIA World Rallycross Championship, Kristoffersson stopped a winning streak of fellow Swedish driver Mattias Ekstrom (EKS RX), who won the first three events of the season.

Ekstrom missed a podium today, finishing in the fourth place. Timmy Hansen (Team Peugeot Hansen) and Kristoffersson’s teammate Peter Solberg finished in the second and third place. Other two finalists were Kevin Eriksson (MJP Racing Team Austria) and Andreas Bakkerud (Hoonigan Racing Division).

Timmy Hansen, World RX, Belgium

Second podium of the year for Timmy Hansen

PSRX Volkswagens fastest in qualifying

Johan Kristoffersson was an absolutely dominant driver in Mettet, winning three of four qualifying heats. In Q1, he was second, behind Petter Solberg. In the Semi final 1, Kristoffersson was beaten by Timmy Hansen but in the Final race Volkswagen’s ace was faster again.

Other six semifinalists were Toomas Heikkinen, Timo Scheider, Sebastien Loeb, Timur Timerzyanov, Niclas Gronholm and Ken Block. Twenty-four drivers participated in the Belgian round.

Mattias Ekstrom, World RX, Mettet

Mattias Ekstrom remains in the championship lead

Ekstrom leads the championship

After four rounds, the championship standings remains unchanged but the point-gap is reduced. Ekstrom leads the championship with 101 points, just three more than Kristoffersson. Solberg is third with 87 points on his account, fifteen more than Timmy Hansen.

The next round is scheduled for May 27-28 at Lydden Hill, UK.

Check the full results of the World RX event in Mettet


Related Posts