2018 British GT Championship entry list: 35 cars are ready for new season

  • 2018 British GT Championship preview
  • 2018 British GT Championship
  • 2018 British GT Championship

The 2018 British GT Championship season will kick-off on Easter weekend at Oulton Park International circuit. The 35 crew are ready for two one-hour races on the 4.3 km (2.69-mile) circuit in Cheshire. Thirteen crews are entering the competition in GT3 class and twenty-two crews will race in GT4 class.

Same as in 2017, this season will feature seven racing weekends with ten races. The double-header events are planned for Oulton Park, Snetterton and Spa-Francorchamps. The season’s finale will take place at Donington Park on September 22-23.

Rick Parfitt Jr

Defending champion Rick Parfitt Jr will share the #1 Bentley with Ryan Ratcliffe

Team Parker Racing’s Rick Parfitt Jr. will defend his championship title in the #1 Bentley Continental GT3. Seb Morris, his partner from the last year’s victorious campaign, moved to the Blancpain GT Series and will be replaced by Ryan Ratcliffe in the #1 car. Parfitt and Ratcliffe have a successful history together, they won GT4 class title in 2013 British GT Championship.

Last year’s vice-champions Phil Keen and Jon Minshaw will stay together in the #33 Barwell Motorsport Lamborghini Huracan GT3. Jonny Adam and Derek Johnston, champions in 2016 and last year’s third-placed crew, will be separated this year in two different Aston Martins. Jonny Adam will share the #75 Optimum Motorsport car with Flick Haigh while Derek Johnston will share the #17 TF Sport entry with Marco Sorensen.

One more Danish ace joined TF Sport – Nicki Thiim will share the #11 car with Mark Farmer. Maxime Martin, new Aston Martin Racing’s driver in the FIA WEC, will also race in the British GT in the #47 Jetstream Motorsport’s car. Aston Martin’s veteran Darren Turner, who was successful in international competitions, will make his debut in British GT Championship alongside Andrew Howard.

British GT Championship preview

Twenty-two cars will race in GT4 class in the season-opening race

In the GT4 class, HHC Motorsport will try to defend a title with #55 Ginetta G55. A new pair of drivers in that car would be Ginetta GT4 Supercup champion Callum Pointon and his partner from Denmark Patrik Matthiesen.

The biggest novelty in GT4 class is a bespoke Jaguar F-Type SVR. Invictus Games Racing will run two unique cars, also playing an active role in the rehabilitation of wounded, injured and sick veterans of the British Armed Forces. Team’s Pro drivers Matthew George and Jason Wolfe would be joined by Major Steve McCulley and RAF Sergeant Ben Norfolk.

2018 British GT Championship entry list

GT3Team Parker RacingBentley Continental GT31 Rick Parfitt Jr., Ryan Ratcliffe
7Ian Loggie, Callum Macleod
Barwell MotorsportLamborghini Huracan GT32Leo Machitski, Patrick Kujala
33Jon Minshaw, Phil Keen
69Jonny Cocker, Sam de Haan
TF Sport AMRAston Martin V12 Vantage GT311Nicki Thiim, Mark Farmer
17Marco Sorensen, Derek Johnston
Motul Team RJN MotorsportNissan GT-R Nismo GT324Devon Modell, Struan Moore
Jetstream Motorsport AMRAston Martin V12 Vantage GT347Graham Davidson, Maxime Martin
Optimum MotorsportAston Martin V12 Vantage GT375Jonny Adam, Flick Haigh
Beechdean AMRAston Martin V12 Vantage GT399Andrew Howard, Darren Turner
Balfe MotorsportMcLaren 650S GT3101Shaun Balfe, Rob Bell
ERC SportMercedes-AMG GT3116Lee Mowle, Yelmer Buurman
GT4Tolman MotorsportMcLaren 570S GT44Charlie Fagg, Michael O'Brien
5Jordan Albert, Lewis Proctor
56Joe Osborne, David Pattison
Equipe VerschuurMcLaren 570S GT410Finlay Huthicon, Daniel McKay
Invictus Games RacingJaguar F-Type SVR GT422Ben Norfolk, Jason Wolfe, Basil Rawlinson
44Steve McCulley, Matthew George, Paul Vice
Richardson RacingMercedes-AMG GT425TBA
Team HARD RacingGinetta G55 GT434Anna Walewska, Callum Hawkins-Row
88Benjamin Wallace, Nick Worm
Century MotorsportBMW M4 GT442Ben Green, Ben Tuck
HHC MotorsportGinetta G55 GT450Will Burns, Mike Newbould
55Patrik Mathiesen, Callum Pointon
UltraTek Racing/Team RJNNissan 370Z GT453Kelvin Fletcher, Martin Plowman
54Jesse Antilla, Stephen Johansen
Academy MotorsportsAston Martin Vantage GT461Jan Jonck, Tom Wood
62Matt Nicoll-Jones, Will Moore
Team Parker RacingMercedes-AMG GT466Nick Jones, Scott Malvern
Steller PerformanceToyota GT86 GT468TBA
Track-ClubMcLaren 570S GT472Adam Balon, Ben Barnicoat
Fox MotorsportMercedes-AMG GT477Mark Murfitt, Michael Broadhurst
Balfe MotorsportMcLaren 570S GT4501Graham Johnson, Mike Robinson

Photos: Jakob Ebrey Photography, britishgt.com,

Related Posts