2018 Dakar Rally: Stage 10 win for Peterhansel, Sainz is 50min in front

  • Stephane Peterhansel, 2018 Dakar Rally, stage 10
  • Stephane Peterhansel, 2018 Dakar Rally, stage 10

Stephane Peterhansel (Team Peugeot Total) was the fastest driver at Stage 10 of 2018 Dakar Rally which took place under the hot Argentinean sun between Salta and Belem.

The stage featured 373 kilometers of timed section and 424 kilometers of link section. It’s the third stage win for Monsieur Dakar in the 40th edition of the world’s toughest rally-raid race. Carlos Sainz stayed in the overall lead after finishing third-fastest today.

Carlos Sainz, 2018 Dakar Rally, stage 10

Carlos Sainz is still in the overall lead after ten stages

On the stage which was divided into two parts Peterhasel built a gap of 8m46sec over Giniel de Villiers (Toyota Gazoo Racing South Africa). Carlos Sainz was 13m07sec slower then Peterhansel. Khalid Al-Qassimi (PH Sport Peugeot) was the fourth fastest today, making it three Peugeots in the Top 5. Bernhard ten Brinke (Toyota) was the fifth fastest today.

After eleven days and with four more stages to go, Carlos Sainz has 50min35sec advantage over Stephane Peterhansel. Today’s stage winner progressed from third overall to P2 because Nasser Al-Attiyah lost plenty of time near the end of the special stage. Al-Attiyah is now third overall, one hour 12min46sec behind Sainz.

Bernhard ten Brinke defended his fourth place overall ahead of teammate Giniel de Villiers. They are separated by just 33 seconds. Jakub Przygonski (Orledn X-Raid Mini) stayed sixth overall. Khalid Al-Qassimi progressed for one place to seventh overall, overpassing Martin Prokop (MP Sports Ford) who lost almost two hours today. Peter van Merksteijn (Overdrive Toyota) and Sebastian Halpern (South Racing Toyota) are rounding Top 10 after ten stages.

2018 Dakar Rally

Four more stages across Argentina are in front of Dakar convoy

Check the full results of Stage 10

The Stage 11 on Wednesday, January 17, will take place from Belen to Chilecito, including 280 kilometers of timed section around Fiambala.

Photos: Marcelo Maragni/Red Bull Content Pool, DPPI,

Related Posts