Fifth Grand Prix win for Verstappen, fifth F1 title for Lewis Hamilton

  • Lewis Hamilton, 2018 Formula 1 champion
  • Lewis Hamilton Mexican Grand Prix
  • Max Verstappen wins Mexican Grand Prix
  • Max Verstappen wins Mexican Grand Prix

Lewis Hamilton is the 2018 Formula One World champion! The 33-year-old British driver takes his fifth championship title after finishing fourth in the Mexican Grand Prix at Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez and securing enough points for the championship celebration with two more races to go. Hamilton has 358 points while Sebastian Vettel collected 294 points, losing a chance for the championship title.

Lewis Hamilton Mexican Grand Prix

The fourth-place finish was good enough for Lewis Hamilton to take his fifth championship title

The winner of the Mexican Grand Prix is Max Verstappen (Red Bull). It’s his second win of the season and the fifth F1 victory in a career. Verstappen shared a podium with two Ferrari drivers – Sebastian Vettel was second and Kimi Raikkonen finished third.

The other point scorers in Mexico are Valtteri Botas (Mercedes, 5th), Nico Hulkenberg (Renault, 6th), Charles Leclerc (Sauber, 7th), Stoffel Vandoorne (McLaren, 8th), Marcus Ericsson (Sauber, 9th) and Pierre Gasly (Toro Rosso, 10th). The pole-sitter Daniel Ricciardo retired from P2 with a broken engine.

Max Verstappen Mexico 1

Max Verstappen scored his fifth win in the #33 Red Bull car

Check the full results of the Mexican Grand Prix

Photos: Getty Images/Red Bull Content Pool, Mercedes, Red Bull Racing,

Related Posts