Scott McLaughlin's double at Phillip Island extends his championship lead

  • Scott McLaughlin Phillip Island winner

Scott McLaughlin completed a clean sweep at Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit by winning Sunday’s race of the WD-40 Phillip Island 500. He did it similarly as the day before, starting from pole in the #17 Shell V-Power Racing’s Ford FG X Falcon. It’s his third win of the season and 18th of his career. He extends the lead in the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship ahead of Erebus Motorsport’s David Reynolds and Red Bull Holden’s Shane van Gisbergen.

David Reynolds finished second in Sunday’s race, crossing the finish line 0.6687 seconds behind McLaughlin after starting from P2 on the grid and staying on McLaughlin’s tail for most of the race. Reynolds was in the lead after second round of pit stops and it took three laps for McLaughlin to find a way past.

VASC Phillip Island, McLaughlin, Reynolds

In Sunday’s race at Phillip Island, McLaughlin beat Reynolds

Nissan Motorsport’s Rick Kelly finished in the third place, repeating a podium from Saturday when he celebrated his 500th Supercars start. Fabian Coulthard (DJR Team Penske Ford) and Michael Caruso (Drive Racing Nissan) completed the top 5.

Shane van Gisbergen was the best of the three Triple Eight Holden drivers, finishing in the sixth place after beating teammate Craig Lowndes in the closing laps. Jamie Whincup was ninth, behind Chaz Mostert on P8 and ahead of Garth Tander on P10.

Check the full results of the WD-40 Phillip Island 500

Photos: Supercars,

Affiliate Disclosure: Pages on this site may include affiliate links to Amazon and its affiliate sites on which the owner of this website make a referral commission.

Related Posts