The 2018 World RX entry list has been revealed

  • World RX preview
  • World RX preview
  • World RX preview

The entry list for the 2018 FIA World Rallycross Championship has been revealed, with fifteen drivers confirmed as full-time entrants in the championship which will start on April 14-16 in Barcelona. The list features six two-driver Teams and three Individual entries.

The cars from six different manufacturers will compete in the fifth World RX season. In addition to Volkswagen Polo R, Audi S1, Ford Fiesta and Peugeot 208, new cars on the grid will be Hyundai i20 and Renault Megane RS.

Johan Kristoffersson, 2017 World RX champion

World champion Johan Kristoffersson will try to defend a title in the #1 Volkswagen Polo

The 2017 World RX Champion Johan Kristoffersson will carry the number 1 on his PSRX Volkswagen Sweden‘s Polo R. His teammate would be again two-time champion Petter Solberg.

The 2016 world champion Mattias Ekstrom is returning to the championship in an Audi S1 of EKS Audi Sport, joined by Norwegian Andreas Bakkerud. Team Peugeot Total will have an unchanged line-up, now as a full factory entry. Sebastien Loeb and Timmy Hansen will fight for the Teams’ title while Kevin Hansen will drive as the Individual entry.

Olsbergs MSE will field two new Ford Fiestas for Kevin Eriksson and Robin Larsson. The French team GC Kompetition will join the World RX field for the first time led by owner/racer Guerlain Chicherit in one Renault Megane RS and Jerome Grosset-Janin in the second car. The striking new Renault Megane RS has been developed and built by Prodrive.

Niclas Gronholm, a son of two-time WRC champion Marcus Gronholm, will drive Hyundai i20 for GRX Taneco Team, joined by the Russian Timur Timerzyanov. Two more Individual entries are Belgian Gregoire Demoustier in a new Peugeot 208 run by Sebastien Loeb Racing and Janis Baumanis in Team Stard‘s Ford Fiesta.

2018 World RX entry list

PSRX Volkswagen SwedenVolkswagen Polo RJohan KristofferssonSweden
Volkswagen Polo RPetter SolbergNorway
EKS Audi SportAudi S1Mattias EkstromSweden
Audi S1Andreas BakkerudNorway
Team Peugeot TotalPeugeot 208Sebastien LoebFrance
Peugeot 208Timmy HansenSweden
Peugeot 208Kevin HansenSweden
Olsbergs MSEFord FiestaKevin ErikssonSweden
Ford FiestaRobin LarssonSweden
GC KompetitionRenault Megane RSGuerlain ChicheritFrance
Renault Megane RSJerome Grosset-JaninFrance
GRX Taneco TeamHyundai i20Niclas GronholmFinland
Hyundai i20Timur TimerzyanovRussia
Sebastien Loeb RacingPeugeot 208Gregoire DemoustierFrance
Team StardFord FiestaJanis BaumanisLatvia


Related Posts