ALMS titles for United Autosports, Inter Europol and CarGuy Racing

  • Asian Le Man Series Sepang International Circuit, Malaysia #22 United Autosports Ligier LMP2

The fourth and the final round of the 2018-2019 Asian Le Mans Series took place this weekend at the Sepang International Circuit in Malaysia. New champions were crowned in three categories.

The LMP2 champions are Phil Hanson and Paul di Resta in the #22 Ligier JS P2-Nissan of United Autosports, the LMP3 champions are Jakub Smiechowski and Martin Hippe in the #13 Ligier JS P3-Nissan of Inter Europol Competition. The best in GT class are James Calado, Kei Cozzolino and Takeshi Kimura who won all four races in the #11 Ferrari 488 GT3 of CarGuy Racing.

Phil Hanson and Paul di Resta won the championship in the #22 Ligier

Phil Hanson and Paul di Resta won the championship in the #22 Ligier

The overall winners of the 4 Hours of Sepang are Harrison Newey, Andrea Pizzitola and Ate de Jong in the #24 Ligier-Judd of Algarve Pro Racing. It’s the second win of the season for the #24 crew but after four races (Shanghai, Fuji, Buriram, Sepang) they are short by 11 points behind new champions.

Hanson and Di Resta were the winners at Buriram and added three more second-place finishes to their account. Darren Burke, Ling Kang and Miro Konopka, the crew in ARC Bratislava’s Ligier JS P2, finished third in the championship and the best among LMP2 Am crews.

#13 Ligier JS P3 of Inter Europol Competition

Championship-winning #13 Ligier JS P3 of Inter Europol Competition

In addition to the glory of winning the championship titles, the winners of the LMP2 and LMP3 classes will each receive an invitation to compete in the LMP2 class at the 24 Hours of Le Mans in June 2019.

The LMP2 Am champions will also get an invitation. There will also be one invitation to race in the LM GTE Am class for the winner of the ALMS GT class.

CarGuy Racing #11 Ferrari

The #11 CarGuy Ferrari won all four races in GT class

Related Posts