Spanish Grand Prix: Third concesutive win for Lewis Hamilton at Barcelona

  • Formula 1 Spanish Grand Prix Lewis Hamilton
  • F1 Spanish Grand Prix Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
  • F1 Spanish Grand Prix

Lewis Hamilton wins the Spanish Grand Prix at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya. It’s his third consecutive win at Barcelona and fourth in total, third win this season and 76th Formula One victory in a career. Valtteri Bottas crossed the finish line second, securing a fifth 1-2 victory for Mercedes in five race of the 2019 season.

Max Verstappen (Red Bull) climbed to the third step of the podium, also progressing to the third place in the championship standings. Ferrari drivers Sebastian Vettel and Charles Leclerc finished fourth and fifth respectively.

F1 Spanish GP Mercedes

Five races, five double victories for Mercedes

Lewis Hamilton was outpaced in qualifying by Valtteri Bottas but he managed to beat Finnish teammate to the first corner. After that, he was unchallenged for the entire race and crossed the finish line four seconds ahead of Bottas. Max Verstappen was further three and a half seconds down, making the same podium as in the 2018 Spanish Grand Prix.

The late Safety Car period that followed after Lando Norris and Lance Stroll clashed in the first corner sequence on lap 45, shook up the field. Pierre Gasly (Red Bull) finished sixth, ahead of Kevin Magnussen (Haas), Carlos Sainz (McLaren), Daniil Kvyat (Toro Rosso) and Romain Grosjean (Haas).

Formula 1 Spanish Grand Prix

Lewis Hamilton took the lead at the start and stayed in front until the end

Check the full results of the Spanish Grand Prix

Photos: Formula 1, Mercedes,

Affiliate Disclosure: Pages on this site may include affiliate links to Amazon and its affiliate sites on which the owner of this website make a referral commission.

Related Posts