2019 WTCR calendar confirmed, Sepang will host super-finale

December 7, 2018
Featured, News
Marijan Malcevic

  • WTCR FIA World Touring Car Cup 2019 calendar

The 2019 WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup calendar has been approved and ratified by the FIA World Motor Sport Council, featuring 10 events with 30 races, the same number as in the inaugural season in 2018.

Compared to the 2018 calendar, the only and the biggest change is a venue of the season’s finale. In 2019, WTCR will end a season at Malaysia’s Sepang International Circuit.

In 2018, two events took place in China, in 2019 there will be only one round at Ningbo. Other eight venues are the same as in 2018:  Marrakech, Hungaroring, Slovakia Ring, Zandvoort, Nürburgring Nordschleife, Vila Real, Suzuka and Guia Circuit Macau.

The Sepang International Circuit will host the WTCR finale as part of a double-header event with the FIM Endurance World Championship for motorbikes but the date is still to be confirmed.

WTCR Nurburgring Nordschleife

WTCR will return to Nurburgring Nordschleife in 2019

“We are delighted to include Sepang on the WTCR calendar for 2019. Forming the deciding rounds of season two, the inaugural WTCR Race of Malaysia promises to be a very exciting addition to the schedule with the prospect of some great racing, including at night, at a venue untried by most WTCR drivers.

As at WTCR Race of Slovakia, the FIM Endurance World Championship for motorbikes will also form part of the timetable in Malaysia. And as promoter of both the WTCR and EWC, Eurosport Events will offer a festival of entertainment for fans of two- and four-wheeled motorsport, which is almost unique on the international calendar. It’s also a great opportunity to gather categories from the FIA and FIM under the same umbrella,” said Francois Ribeiro, Head of Eurosport Events.

WTCR Zandvoort

WTCR will visit ten countries in 2019

WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup calendar for 2019:

Rounds 1-3: WTCR Race of Morocco, Circuit Moulay El Hassan, Marrakech (5-7 April)
Rounds 4-6: WTCR Race of Hungary, Hungaroring (26-28 April)
Rounds 7-9: WTCR Race of Slovakia, Slovakia Ring (10-12 May)
Rounds 10-12: WTCR Race of Netherlands, Zandvoort (17-19 May)
Rounds 13-15: WTCR Race of Germany, Nürburgring Nordschleife (20-22 June)
Rounds 16-18: WTCR Race of Portugal, Vila Real (5-7 July)
Rounds 19-21: WTCR Race of China, Ningbo (13-15 September)
Rounds 22-24: WTCR Race of Japan, Suzuka (25-27 October)
Rounds 25-27: WTCR Race of Macau, Circuito da Guia (14-17 November)
Rounds 28-30: WTCR Race of Malaysia, Sepang (TBA)

Photo: Francois Flamand/DPPI,

Related Posts