The 2019 WTCR Supergrid is set with 26 full-time entries

  • PWR Racing Daniel Haglöf and Mikel Azcona
  • WTCR China
  • WTCR China
  • Yvan Muller WTCR
  • WTCR Norbert Michelisz

The 2019 WTCR Supergrid is finally set with 26 full-time entries for the second season of the world’s major touring car competition.

Ten days ago the Swedish team PWR Racing has been announced as a new entry in the WTCR – FIA World Touring Car Cup but without announcing who will drive their Cupra TCR machines.  Now, the team reveals names of drivers and completed the WTCR grid for the 2019 season. That would be team’s co-owner Daniel Haglöf and young Spanish driver Mikel Azcona, last year’s TCR Europe Series champion.

“I feel super happy and proud to join PWR and Cupra Racing in the WTCR. It’s going to be an exciting season full of great challenges. I look forward to the hard work in front of me, to be competitive in this tough field full of world champions. Lastly, I want to thank PWR and Cupra Racing for believing in me as a driver,” said the 22-year-old Azcona.

The confirmation of Haglöf and Azcona completes the 2019 WTCR line-up. On the list of 26 drivers, there are several world champions, including defending WTCR champion Gabriele Tarquini.

Three world touring car champions (from right to left): Yvan Muller, Gabriele Tarquini, Rob Huff

Three world touring car champions (from right to left): Yvan Muller, Gabriele Tarquini, Rob Huff

Here’s the full entry list for 2019 WTCR season:

BRC Racing TeamHyundai i30 N TCR1Gabriele Tarquini
Hyundai i30 N TCR5Norbert Michelisz
Hyundai i30 N TCR8Augusto Farfus
Hyundai i30 N TCR88Nick Catsburg
Sebastien Loeb RacingVolkswagen Golf GTI TCR3Johan Kristoffersson
Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR10Benjamin Leuchter
Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR12Rob Huff
Volkswagen Golf GTI TCR25Mehdi Bennani
KCMGHonda Civic Type R TCR9Attila Tassi
Honda Civic Type R TCR18Tiago Monteiro
Audi Sport Team ComtoyouAudi RS3 LMS TCR14Niels Langeveld
Audi RS3 LMS TCR22Frederic Vervisch
Comtoyou RacingCupra TCR21Aurelien Panis
Cupra TCR50Tom Coronel
ALL-INKL.COM Münnich MotorsportHonda Civic Type R TCR29Nestor Girolami
Honda Civic Type R TCR86Esteban Guerrieri
Team MulsanneAlfa Romeo Giulietta Veloce31Kevin Ceccon
Alfa Romeo Giulietta Veloce55Ma Qing Hua
Audi Sport Leopard Team WRTAudi RS3 LMS TCR52Gordon Shedden
Audi RS3 LMS TCR69Jean-Karl Vernay
Cyan RacingLynk & Co 03 TCR62Thed Bjork
Lynk & Co 03 TCR68Yann Ehrlacher
TBAYvan Muller
TBAAndy Priaulx
PWR RacingCupra TCRTBADaniel Haglöf
TBAMikel Azcona

The 2019 WTCR season will kick-off on April 6-7 at Marrakech. Three weeks later, the next stop will be Hungaroring and then Slovakia Ring (May 10-12), Zandvoort (May 18-19), Nürburgring Nordschleife (June 21-22), Vila Real (July 6-7), Ningbo (September 14-15), Suzuka (October 26-27), Macau (November 16-17). The great finale is scheduled for December 15 at Sepang International Circuit.

Photos: WTCR, Jean Michel Le Meur, Marc de Mattia/DPPI,

Related Posts