ADAC GT Masters: Drama saved for the last round

  • ADAC GT Masters Hockenheim

Who will be crowned as a new ADAC GT Masters champion? We will see on Sunday! Saturday’s race at Hockenheim was marked by a huge accident at the start, while the winners were YACO Racing pair Rahel Frey and Philip Geipel, in what is their first victory this year.


Race was stopped after just a couple of seconds because of a huge accident in which included many cars and four of them were forced to retire. Between them was the championship leader Sebastian Asch and also Christian Engelhart, the partner of another title contender, Klaus Bachler.



After more than 30 minutes of track cleaning, the race was restarted and Luca Stolz was on top, followed by Rachel Frey (YACO Racing), Nico Verdonck (Lambda Competition) and Bruno Spengler behind the wheel of a remaining championship challenger, the BMW of Team Schubert. But, Stolz’s lead didn’t lasted long time. His Bentley began to smoke and soon, fire on the left side was visible, so he was also out of the race.


When the pit window opened, Frey was on top, Verdonck second and Spengler third, with Stefan Wackerbauer (C. Abt Racing) on fourth and Daniel Dobitsch (kfzteile24 MS Racing) on fifth position.


Clemens Schmid

Clemens Schmid



All eyes were on Dominik Baumann as he had an excellent chance to reduce a gap in the championship. He was fourth after pit window closing with Philip Geipel (YACO Racing), Fabian Hamprecht (Bentley Team HTP) and champion Kelvin van der Linde (C.Abt Racing) in front of him. But, Team Schubert BMW driver was too far from the leader, almost nine seconds, with 10 minutes to go.


Top four standings remained unchanged until the end, so YACO Racing clinched their first victory, while Daniel Keilwitz in Callaway Competition’s Chevrolet moved to fifth.



Yaco Lausitz



Before the last round, Asch and Ludwig are on top in the championship standings with 187 points, Baumann is second with 168, while Bachler is third with 150 and he lost the chance to become the new ADAC GT Masters champion.


Check the full results at SnapLap results page!



Related Posts