ADAC GT Masters - perfect place for racing enthusiasts

February 17, 2016
Featured, Spotlight
Alexander S

  • ADAC GT Masters 2014 Germany ring 2017 oschersleben austria sachsenring

ADAC GT Masters is certainly not one of the world’s top-class racing series, but still a very competitive, exciting and constantly growing one, with various cars of renowned manufacturers and many quality drivers throughout its history.

The first attempt failed

Originally, the racing series was called ADAC GT Cup. It was created in 1993, as a national grand tour championship of Germany. Initially, the ADAC GT Cup was divided into two classes – the upper class was for the sports cars while the lower class was for small coupe cars. But, things didn’t go so well, after two years the two classes were merged. After another two years, which were far above expectations, and with the teams unhappy with regulations, the championship was officially canceled.

ADAC GT Masters 2014 Germany motorsport 2015 ring 2017 austria oschersleben sachsenring

ADAC GT Masters race at Oschesleben Motorsport arena

New beginning

In 2007, Stephane Ratel Organisation, supported by the ADAC (Allgemeiner Deutscher Automobil-Club), one of Europe’s biggest motorist organisations, decided to revive the competition under the new name, ADAC GT Masters, with an idea to offer serious racing enthusiasts a chance to put their skills to the test.

ADAC GT Masters Nürburgring Germany 2017 motorsport 2013

ADAC GT Masters – a fast growing championship

ADAC GT Masters is a ’Pro-Am’ championship in which a professional driver shares a car with an amateur driver. They are changing positions behind the wheel during the pit-stop. Criteria who is professional and who is an amateur is regulated by FIA. World’s racing governing body is also responsible for the cars’ regulations. Although the series is based in Germany, and most teams and drivers are German, selected events are run across Europe.

Video – ADAC GT Masters race at Nürburgring, Germany (2014)

Two ADAC GT Masters races per weekend

Every ADAC GT Masters round consists of two 60-minute races, one on Saturday and one on Sunday. In each race, the drivers must make a pit stop and switch positions. Usually, the amateur driver starts the first race, while the professional starts the second race.

ADAC GT Masters 2014 Germany Nürburgring 2013 ring contact page

ADAC GT Masters – a chance for racing enthusiasts

One of the main things which makes ADAC GT Masters different to many motorsport series, is the fact that the competition is primarily designed as a challenge for the private teams and enthusiasts, and not as a showcase for the cars’ manufacturers, although many world class brands are represented, like Porsche, Audi, Lamborghini, Mercedes-Benz or Corvette, for example. All cars competing in ADAC GT Masters must be under FIA GT3 technical regulations.

ADAC GT Masters 2014 Germany Nürburgring contact page 2017 april

Prosperia C.Abt – ADAC GT Masters 2014 champions

Many champions had a try in the ADAC GT Masters

ADAC GT Masters is a good place for promoting motorsports and racing enthusiasts, but many well-known names tested themselves in this competition as well. Some of them are Christian Abt, Nicki Thiim, Bruno Spengler, Sebastien Ogier, Jaap van Lagen, Kevin Estre, Philipp Eng, Maximilian Gotz, Claudia Hurtgen etc.

ADAC GT Masters Germany 2014 sports motorsport contact page 2017 oschersleben Austria april

Podium after ADAC GT Masters race at Hockenheim 2014

List of ADAC GT Masters champions (Drivers – Team – Car)

2007: Christopher Haase  – Reiter Engineering – Lamborghini Gallardo GT3

2008: Tim Bergmeister – Team Flatex-Reiter – Porsche 997 GT3 Cup

2009: Christian Abt – Callaway Competition – Audi R8 LMS

2010: Peter Kox/Albert von Thurn und Taxis – Abt Sportsline – Lamborghini Gallardo LP560 GT3

2011: Dino Lunardi/Alexandros Margaritis – Reiter Engineering – Alpina B6 GT3

2012: Sebastian Asch/Maximilian Gotz – MS Racing Team – Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG GT3

2013: Diego Alessi/Daniel Keilwitz – Prosperia C.Abt Racing – Corvette Z06 R GT3

2014: Rene Rast/Kelvin van der Linde – Prosperia C.Abt Racing – Audi R8 LMS Ultra

2015: Sebastian Asch/Luca Ludwig – BMW Sports Trophy Team Schubert – Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG GT3

2016: Christopher Mies/Connor De Phillippi – Land Motorsport – Audi R8 LMS


Affiliate Disclosure: Pages on this site may include affiliate links to Amazon and its affiliate sites on which the owner of this website make a referral commission.

Related Posts