Al-Attiyah won Cyprus Rally, Kajetanowicz fastest in ERC classification

September 28, 2015
Featured, News
Marijan Malcevic

Qatari driver Nasser Al-Attiyah, who contested with Ford Fiesta RRC co-driven by Matthieu Baumel, is the overall winner of 44th Cyprus Rally. The rally was 5th round of Middle-East Rally Championship and 8th round of European Rally Championship. Polish driver Kajetan Kajetanowicz (Ford Fiesta R5) was the fastest in ERC classification, missing the overall victory for seven seconds.


Al-Attiyah and Kajetanowicz dominated at the Mediterranean island and won all 16 special stages (Al-Attiyah 9, Kajetanowicz 7). Third overall and second in MERC classification was one more Qatari driver Abdulaziz Al-Kuwari (Ford Fiesta RRC), with a four-minute gap behind the winner. Portuguese driver Bruno Magalhaes (Peugeot 208 T16) was fourth overall and second in ERC classification, ahead of Frenchman Robert Consani (Citroen DS3 R5).


With this victory and two more events remaining, Kajetanowicz extends the lead in 2015 European Rally Championship. So far, he has scored two wins and six podiums and now has a 62-point advantage over Craig Breen, who missed the Cyprus Rally. Third placed Alexey Lukyanuk has 120 points and reach the title only mathematically. In 2015 Middle-East Rally Championship Al-Attiyah won four out of five events, but with three more races remaining, Emirati driver Khalid Al-Qassimi is still in the game for the championship title.



Related Posts