BMW confirms drivers for 2017 DTM season

December 10, 2016
Featured, News
Alexander S

  • Timo Glock Marco Wittmann BMW DTM

The BMW drivers line-up for the 2017 DTM season remains unchanged with the reigning champion Marco Wittmann as a first violin in the Bavarian orchestra.

After all manufacturers reduced their program in the series from eight to six cars, it was expected that BMW keep its drivers from the previous season. Antonio Felix da Costa and Martin Tomczyk left the series at the end of the season, so remaining six drivers will stay with BMW.

Marco Wittmann, Timo Glock, and Augusto Farfus will drive for BMW Team RMG, while Maxime Martin, Tom Blomqvist, and Bruno Spengler will drive for the BMW Team RBM. BMW Team Schnitzer and BMW Team MTEK are redeployed by BMW to sportscar campaigns.

“This consistency in the cockpit will do us good. Experience is extremely important in the DTM,” comments BMW Motorsport director Jens Marquardt.

The other two manufacturers, Audi and Mercedes, still have to confirm their drivers for the following season.


Related Posts