BTCC - Round 7 at Knockhill - preview

August 20, 2015
Featured, News
Marijan Malcevic

British Touring Car Championship is moving to Scotland this weekend. The seventh round of BTCC will take place at Knockhill circuit in Fife. BTCC cars first raced there back in 1992 and since then Knockhill is regular annual host of the most popular British racing series. The track is one of the shortest on the calendar (1.27 miles), narrow and undulating, and its unique character is loved by fans and racers alike.


Scotland’s hero in BTCC is definitely Gordon Shedden (Honda Yuasa Racing). He led the championship at the midpoint of the season but after a lousy weekend at Snetterton he dropped to third. Championship leaders are Team BMR drivers Jason Plato and Colin Turkington. Reigning champion won two races at Knockhill two years ago and his appetite at this trackx is surely big this year, especially after a double win in the previous round at Snetterton.




The tight, twisty and undulating nature of the short Knockhill circuit should suit rear-wheel-drive machinery, so favourites are West Surrey Racing’s BMWs and Rob Austin Racing’s Audis. BMW drivers Sam Tordoff, Andy Priaulx and Rob Collard are currently 4th, 7th and 10th in the championship standings, with total of five wins. Between Tordoff and Priaulx are Andrew Jordan (MG Triple Eight) and Matt Neal (Honda Yuasa) at 5th and 6th place respectively.


All regular drivers will race at Knockhill, even Hunter Abbott. He will drive for Rob Austin and his team although was announced earlier that he will miss Knockhill event because his wife is preparing for birth of their first child. Team didn’t find a replacement and Abbott will be obliged to compete. “I will be racing the Exocet AlcoSense Audi at the weekend with my fingers crossed that the little one doesn’t decide to make an appearance over the weekend and Susie will be at home watching the racing, hopefully with her legs crossed,” said Abbott.


All three races at Knockhill are scheduled for Sunday. First one will start at 11.45, second at 14.17 and third race at 17.07 (local time).



Related Posts