BTCC: Sam Tordoff winner of the third race at Oulton Park

Sam Tordoff (West Surrey Racing) won Race 12 of the British Touring Championship today at Oulton Park and gained his first victory in the 2015 season. Tordoff, driving a BMW 125i crossed the finish line ahead of Andrew Jordan (MG Triple Eight) and Matt Neal (Honda Yuasa Racing) after an intense battle from the start to the chequered flag.


A decisive move was made in Lap 9 when Tordoff overtook Neal. Briefly after that, Neal lost one more position by Jordan. The most tragic figure of the race was Adam Morgan (Wix Racing), who started from pole-position. Unfortunately for him, the stewards saw that his Mercedes A-Class was moving before the red lights were off and penalised him with a drive-through penalty.


Behind the leading trio was Gordon Shedden (Honda Yuasa). He was followed by three Volkswagens of Team BMR. The fastest was Jason Plato, while Colin Turkington overtook Aron Smith in Lap 10. The Top 10 was rounded by Jack Goff, Tom Ingram and Jeff Smith. Andy Priaulx was tenth until lap 12 when he pitted and retired because of technical problems.



After 12 races, Jason Plato is the leader in the championship standings with 157 points, ahead Gordon Shedden (154) and Matt Neal (149). The leading team is Team BMW (310 points), in front of Honda Yuasa (298) and MG Triple Eight (252).


The next round of the championship is scheduled for three weeks (Jun 27&28) at Croft.

Related Posts