Carlin Motorsport spotlight

March 14, 2015

Founded in 1996 by Trevor Carlin and Martin Stone, Carlin Motorsport is to Formula One what West Ham United is to football. Of the 200 drivers that have been associated with the team, many have gone on to ultimately winning F1. Prominent examples include NicoRosberg, Robert Kubica, Daniel Ricciardo, Kevin Magnussen, Max Chillton and four-time world champion Sebastian Vettel.

Carlin competes in the A1 Grand Prix Series, Porsche Supercup, Formula E, Formula Nissan and Renault 3.5 Series, FIA European Formula 3 Championship andthe Macau Grand Prix.However, the team has spent most seasons racing in the British Formula 3 Championship. Its first major success came with Takuma Sato who won the 3rd place in 2000 and the top position in 2001 with Anthony Davidson earning the second place. Later on, its British F3 champions were Alan van der Merwe, Álvaro Parente, Jaime Alguersuari, Daniel Ricciardo, Jéan-Eric Vergne, Felipe Nasr, Jack Harvey and Jordan King.

In GP2 and GP3 series, Carlin has won the teams’ championship and achieved the second spot in 2014.It also was ranked at the 2nd place at the 2013 GP2. Its driver Felipe Nasr earned the third place at the 2014 GP2, providing the team with a second place in team’s championship. In GP3, Alex Lynn emerged as the champion and Carlin cruised to the top in the teams’category as well.

In 2015, Carlin is set to compete in the Indy Lights, European F3, Formula E, Formula Renault 3.5 and GP2 and GP3 Series respectively. Also, it is going to drive in the inaugural season of UK-based MSA Formula. So far, in GP3, the only confirmed driver is Antonio Fuocco.In GP2, the 2015 drivers will be Marco Sorensen and Julián Leal. In Formula E, Carlin Motorsports is managing Mahindra Racing’s BrunnoSenna and Karun Chandhok.

The ambitious 2015 plans of Trevor Carlin, the team’s founder are surely going to result in a new champion, one who we are sure to remember in the many years that follow. Is the new champion among the current line up? Only time will tell!