Carlin Motorsport

Founded in 1996 by Trevor Carlin and Martin Stone, Carlin Motorsport is to Formula One what West Ham United is for football. Of over 200 drivers that used to race for this team, many of them ended up in F1. Nico Rosberg, Robert Kubica, Daniel Ricciardo, Kevin Magnussen, Max Chilton and four time world champion Sebastian Vettel all drove for Carlin at one point.


Carlin competed and competes in A1 Grand Prix Series, Porsche Supercup, Formula E, Formula Nissan and Renault 3.5 Series, FIA European Formula 3 Championship, Macau Grand Prix, but the team has spent the most seasons racing in  British Formula 3 Championship. Their first major success came with Takuma Sato who won 3rd place in 2000 and 1st in 2001 with Anthony Davidson earning the second place. Later on, their British F3 champions were Alan van der Merwe, Álvaro Parente, Jaime Alguersuari, Daniel Ricciardo, Jéan-Eric Vergne, Felipe Nasr, Jack Harvey and Jordan King.


In GP2 and GP3 series, Carlin won one teams’ championship and one second place in 2014, and one more second place in 2013 in GP2. Their driver Felipe Nasr earned the third place in 2014 GP2, providing the team with a second place in team’s championship, while in GP3, Alex Lynn was the champion, as well as the team.


In 2015, Carlin is to compete in Indy Lights, European F3, Formula E, Formula Renault 3.5 and GP2 and GP3 Series respectively. Also, they are going to drive in the inaugural season of UK-based MSA Formula. In GP3, the only confirmed driver is Antonio Fuocco, while in GP2, the 2015 drivers will be Marco Sorensen and Julián Leal. In Formula E, Carlin Motorsports is managing Mahindra Racing’s Bruno Senna and Karun Chandhok.


The ambitious 2015 plans of Trevor Carlin, team’s founder and principal are surely going to result in a new name we will still remember in the following decades. Is the new champion among the current line up? We will see…

Related Posts