Citroen WTCC Total Team

  • Citroen Total WTCC

Citroen Total World Touring Car Team is Citroen factory team based in Versaille and founded in June 2013. In two seasons competing in the WTCC, team has won two doubles, claiming both Drivers’ and Manufacturers’ trophies.


Imminent success

In 2014, for the first time ever, the brand was to take part in an international track racing championship and began the development of the Citroen C-Elysee. The team made instant success in FIA WTCC winning Drivers’ and Manufacturers’ titles in the debut season in the series with Citroen C-Elysee car built under new TC1 regulations.


Citroen Total WTCC

Sebastien Loeb spent two seasons with Citroen WTCC team


Nine time World Rally Championship winner and legend of French autosport Sebastien Loeb was hired as a driver along with three time FIA WTCC champion and his compatriot Yvann Muller. They tested prototype of C-Elysee at Val d’Or test track which has direct access from the Citroen’s factory. Very soon after that, team secured the services of Argentinian Jose Maria Lopez as a third driver and his arrival, as it turned out, was excellent move. Finally, Ma Qing Hua was signed to run the fourth car at selected races.


Video: Tribute to Citroen driver and double WTCC champion Jose Maria Lopez


Flying start

Citroen WTCC Team won 14 of first 15 races in the season and at the end of the season had 17 victories at 23 races setting the new standards in the FIA WTTC racing world. New FIA WTCC champion Jose Maria Lopez managed to win 10 times, Yvan Muller, who was runner-up in overall standings, won four races while third placed Loeb added two victories which was good result as he must to switch quickly from rally to touring cars racing. Chinese Ma Qing Hua also was the winner in one race.


Jose Maria Lopez Citroen WTCC

Jose Maria Lopez – double WTCC champion with Citroen C-Elysee


Citroen’s superiority to the rivals in the FIA WTCC was reflected with difference of taking 293 points more than second placed Honda in Manufacturers’ championship, clinching the title five races before the end of the season.


Dominance continues

Citroen Total team expanded to four full-time entries in 2015 campaign, with same drivers line-up as in the previous year. Again, French team was absolutely superior winning both Manufacturers’ and Drivers’ championship. Jose Maria Lopez defended his crown winning 10 races, leaving his team-mates Yvan Muller, Sebastien Loeb and Ma Qing Hua on second, third and fourth position. Supremacy of C-Elysee cars was almost unbelievable as they were fastest in 21 of 24 starts.


Citroen Total WTCC

Ma Qing Hua, Sebastien Loeb, Yvan Muller and Jose Maria Lopez


The 2016 season will be the last for Citroen Total team in the WTCC after announcement of withdrawal from the series. Only two cars will be present on the grid in 2016, with Lopez and Muller in the seats of championship winning cars.



Related Posts