Dakar 2016: 1-2-3 victory for Peugeot at Stage 4

  • Dakar 2016, Stephane Peterhansel, Peugeot 2008 DKR

Team Peugeot Total conquered the Stage 4 of 2016 Dakar Rally. Three Peugeot 2008 DKRs were the fastest through 429-km long timed section of the stage which started and finished in Jujuy.


At the finish line the margin between first placed Stephane Peterhansel and third placed Sebastien Loeb was just 27 seconds. Carlos Sainz was between two of them, with 11 seconds gap behind Peterhansel.


Dakar 2016, Stephane Peterhansel

Stephane Peterhansel was the fastest on Stage 4 and now is 4.48m behind Loeb in the overall standings


66th stage win for Peterhansel

Today’s victory is 33rd Dakar stage win for Peterhansel in car category, or 66th win when counting both cars and motorcycles. To remind you, Peterhansel has eleven Dakar winning trophies – six achieved with bikes and five with cars.


The best non-Peugeot driver today was last year’s winner Nasser Al-Attiyah with X-Raid’s Mini All4 Racing. He neeeded 3hours 47.39 minutes for 429 kilometres, almost five minutes more than Peterhansel. Fifth fastest on Stage 4 was fourth Peugeot driver Cyril Despres.


Dakar 2016, Nasser Al-Attiyah, Mini All4 Racing

Nasser Al-Attiyah was the fastest non-Peugeot driver on Stage 4


Robbie Gordon tenth on Stage 4

Saudi Yazeed Al-Rajhi, who was the fastest Toyota driver, finished sixth, with 5.59m gap and 16 seconds ahead another Toyota driver Leeroy Poulter. Two X-Raid Mini drivers followed – Nani Roma at eighth and Orlando Terranova at ninth.


Top 10 was completed by American Robby Gordon, who scored the best stage results so far. First drivers outside top 10 were Giniel De Villiers (Toyota), Mikko Hivonen (Mini) and Vladimir Vasilyev (Toyota).


Dakar 2016, Yazeed Al-Rajhi

Yazeed Al-Rajhi was the fastest Toyota driver on Stage 4


Loeb’s overall advantage is 4.48 minutes

In the overall standings after four stages Sebastien Loeb remained in the lead, with 4.48 minutes advantage ahead Stephane Peterhansel. Nasser Al-Attiyah is third, more than eleven minutes behind Loeb.


With today good result Carlos Sainz jumped to fifth place, with 13 minutes gap behind leading Loeb. Leeroy Poulter showed consistency in all stages so far and after Stage 4 he is fourth overall as best of all Toyota drivers.


Dakar 2016, Sebastien Loeb

With two stage wins and today’s third place Sebastien Loeb is the overall leader


Renault’s Spataro 12th overall after four stages

With today’s eleventh place Giniel De Villiers dropped to sixth in the overall classification. He is 13m19s behind Loeb and 2m23s ahead seventh placed Mikko Hirvonen. Cyril Despres, Bernhard Ten Brinke (Toyota) and Vladimir Vasilyev completed top 10 in the overalls.


Behind three manufacturers which dominated at Dakar – Peugeot, Mini and Toyota – the best driver of other manufacturers is Emiliano Spataro with Renault Duster at 12th place overall. His team-mate Christian Lavieille is 21st.


Complete results of Dakar Rally you can find at SnapLap result pages.


Video: WRC drivers about their Dakar rally experience


Video: Stage 4 summary



Photo: Red Bull

Related Posts