Di Grassi steals the show in Paris

  • Lucas di Grassi

Lucas di Grassi is the winner of the Paris ePrix, the seventh round of the 2015/2016 FIA Formula E season. Now he has strengthened his lead in the championship and with four rounds remaining, he is on a good way to the title.

Sam Bird had pole position

After the exciting battle in qualifying, Sam Bird a bit surprisingly won Super Pole position for the Paris ePrix. DS Virgin’s driver was 0.32s faster than the championship leader Lucas di Grassi (Abt Schaeffler). Jean-Eric Vergne, another DS Virgin driver, and Stephane Sarrazin of Venturi started from row two while the pair of Renault e.dams drivers had a disappointing session – Nicolas Prost started from fifth place and Sebastien Buemi from eighth while reigning champion Nelson Piquet jr. Started from ninth.

Sam Bird DS Virgin

Sam Bird, Paris ePrix

The start of the race on the shortest track in the series was very interesting. Di Grassi took the lead at turn 1, Vergne moved up to second leaving his teammate Bird on third. Prost moved up to fourth and Buemi to the seventh position. Di Grassi big advantage when the race was yellow-flagged on lap 7 due to the failure of the Loic Duval’s car but managed to retain the lead after the green flags were shown.

French teams behind di Grassi

Before the change of the cars, the Brazilian was well ahead of the two DS Virgin cars and two Renaults. They all went to the pit in the same time and the gaps were very tight, so everything was set for the thrilling second half of the race.

Di Grassi’s lead never was in doubt, but the battle for the second position between Vergne, Bird, and Buemi was very intense. With five laps to go, Bird locked up and dropped to sixth place. Unfortunately, we missed drama in the last few lap of the Paris ePrix. The safety car was deployed after Ma Qing Hua hit the wall on lap 41 and stayed on the track until the end.

Vergne and Buemi at the podium

So, Di Grassi clinched third win this season, Vergne finished second and Buemi third. His teammate Prost was fourth and Stephane Sarrazin fifth. Sam Bird, Robin Frijns, Felix Antonio da Costa, Bruno Senna and Daniel Abt also scored points in this race.

Click for full results of Paris ePrix!

Photo: fiaformulae.com

Related Posts