Ecurie Ecosse - Formula One, GT cars and die-cast collectibles

  • Ecurie Ecosse Formula 1
  • Ecurie Ecosse 24 Hours of Le Mans
  • Ecurie Ecosse 24 Hours of Spa
  • Ecurie Ecosse British GT

Ecurie Ecosse, what in French means Scotland Stable or Team of Scotland, has a long history in auto races. Team is founded in Edinburgh in 1951 by local businessman, racing driver and true Francophile David Murray and mechanic Mike Wilkinson.


Debut in Formula 1

First racing experience for the new Scottish team was n the Formula 1 in which Ecurie Ecosse had just four Grand Prix entries over three seasons (1952-1954). Only once team’s car managed to finish the race, taking the 14th place. Nothing better results were made in Formula 2 from 1969 to 1971, so the team left open wheel racing.


Ecurie Ecosse Formula 1

Ecurie Ecosse Cooper Bristol raced by Jackie Stewart’s brother Jimmy


24 Hours of Le Mans triumph

Team’s most notable achievement was winning 24 Hours of Le Mans in 1956 and 1957. Ron Flockhart and Ninian Sanderson won the race in 1956 driving Jaguar D-Type. Next year in the same type of car Flockhart won second title, this time partnered with Ivor Bueb. The team’s second car was runner-up same year driven up by Sanderson and John Lawrence.


Ecurie Ecosse 24 Hours of Le Mans

The victorious Ron Flockhart/Ivor Bueb Ecurie Ecosse entered D Type Jaguar during the 1957 Le Mans 24 Hours


Hard days and revivals

Ecurie Ecosse ceased operating in 1971 after financial troubles, but was revived in the ’80s by enthusiast Hugh McCaig. In 1986 team has won the C2 class of the World Sportclass championship after being runner-up in the previous year. In 1992 and 1993 team has won the British Touring Car Championship for Vauxhall and have helped support some of Scotland’s most successful modern racing drivers including Allan McNish, David Coulthard, David Leslie, John Cleland and 2007 Indianapolis 500 winner Dario Franchitti.


Ecurie Ecosse BTCC

Vauxhall Sport Cavalier Ecurie Ecosse


New revival of the team has occured in 2011. McCaig gathered four young drivers – Andrew Smith, Alasdair McCaig, Joe Twyman and Oliver Bryant. Team has entered the race 24 Hours of Spa in GT3 class making a outright victory.


Ecurie Ecosse 24 Hours of Spa

Ecurie Ecosse team at Spa 2011


In 2014 Ecurie Ecosse driver Marco Attard won British GT Drivers’ championship driving a BMW Z4 GT3. The team is also competng n the Blancpain Endurance Series and had considerable results in 2014 and 2015 with young drivers line-up.


Ecurie Ecosse British GT 2014

Ecurie Ecosse driver Marco Attard, 2014 British GT champion


Famous car transporter

One unique vehicle made Ecurie Ecosse one of the most recognizable and popular racing teams. That is their cars transporter bulit in 1960. It later passed through many hands and was discovered in th ’80s in a terrible condition. In December 2013, transporter with collection of eight team’s cars was sold at auction for 8.8 million pounds.



Related Posts