Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup: Hubert's maiden win at Silverstone

Frenchman Anthoine Hubert (Tech 1 Racing) scored his first win in the Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup today at Silverstone. It’s also first season’s victory for his team. Hubert started the race from pole and remained in the lead untill the chequered flag. Kevin Jörg (Josef Kaufmann Racing) and Ukyo Sasahara (ART Junior Team) completed the podium. Championship leader Louis Delétraz (Josef Kaufmann Racing) finished sixth and now has just one point lead over Kevin Jörg in the general classification. Five drivers are separated by just 28 points with three meetings left in the season.


At the start, Anthoine Hubert held onto the lead ahead of Kevin Jörg and Ben Barnicoat (Fortec Motorsports). They were followed by Ukyo Sasahara, Jake Hughes (Koiranen GP) and Jack Aitken (Koiranen GP). The gap between Hubert and Jörg remained stable at around one second. On the last lap, Ukyo Sasahara found his way past Ben Barnicoat, who spun out and finished 13th.


Fourth place went to Jack Aitken, who came home ahead of Jake Hughes and Louis Delétraz. Callan O’Keeffe (Fortec Motorsports) was seventh, ahead of Dennis Olsen (Manor MP Motorsport) and wild-card entry and highest placed rookie Will Palmer (ART Junior Team). Thiago Vivacqua (JD Motorsport) finished 10th but he was penalized for abusing the track limits, which resulted in Simon Gachet (Tech 1 Racing) scoring the final point on offer.




Check all the results at SnapLap result pages.


Photo: World Series by Renault

Related Posts