Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup: Jack Aitken double winner at Jerez

Jack Aitken (Koiranen GP) won both races of Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup at Jerez today and took the championship lead before tomorrow’s final race of the season. Kevin Jörg (Josef Kaufmann Racing) was second in Race 1 and fourth in Race 2, so he’s entering final race with 13 points gap behind Aitken. Previous leader Louis Deletraz (Josef Kaufmann Racing) finished fourth in Race 1 and fifth in Race 2. He dropped to third place in the championship classification, with 21 points behind Aitken he still has a mathematical chance to take the crown.


Jack Aitken, who became Formula Renault 2.0 Alps champion previous weekend, started his chase to another title with dominant qualifying pace and secured pole positio for both Saturday’s races. He converted pole positions to double victory, in races which started behind Safety car because of bad weather conditions.




In first race Aitken scored his fourth win ahead of Kevin Jörg and Ignazio D’Agosto (Manor MP Motorsport). The race started in wet conditions and behind the safety car. After five laps marked by the retirements of Amaury Richard (ARTA Engineering), Max Defourny (ART Junior Team), Bruno Baptista (Manor MP Motorsport) and Darius Oskoui (ART Junior Team) the race was stopped before re-starting behind the safety car. Jack Aitken quickly pulled away from Kevin Jörg to go on for a 14-second margin of victory from the Swiss driver. Third and fifth on the last lap, Ben Barnicoat (Fortec Motorsports) and Dennis Olsen (Manor MP Motorsport) dropped out, so Ignazio D’Agosto inherited third place.


Race two began in a torrential rain storm. After a lap behind the safety car, the race was stopped until weather conditions improved. While the positions remained identical, the incident on lap eight between Anthoine Hubert (Tech 1 Racing) and Valentin Hasse-Clot (Fortec Motorsports) brought the title hopes of Antoine Hubert to an end as well as provoking another safety car period.


The green flag was waved for the last lap in which Jack Aitken was able to complete his perfect day with another victory ahead of Ignazio D’Agosto and Ben Barnicoat. Kevin Jörg and Louis Delétraz finished in the top five.




Check all the results at SnapLap result pages.

Related Posts