GP2 will run new Formula Two championship

December 3, 2015
Featured, News
Marijan Malcevic

The FIA World Motor Sport Council has confirmed the GP2 Series promoter will run the new Formula Two championship. Formula Two last ran from 2009 to 2012, but the FIA has been working on reviving the series.


In its meeting yesterday in Paris the WMSC gave a mandate to the President Jean Todt to formalise the contract between the FIA and the GP2 promoter for the establishment of the FIA Formula 2 Championship to complete the FIA’s single-seater pyramid from Karting to Formula One. No date has been announced when the new championship will be started.


Formula Two runned twice, from 1967 to 1984 and from 2009 to 2012. The last F2 champion was British driver Luciano Bacheta. Before him, F2 champions were Mirko Bortolotti (2011), Dean Stoneman (2010) and Andy Soucek (2009). Previous F2 champions were Jacky Ickx, Jean-Pierre Beltoise, Johnny Servoz-Gavin, Clay Regazzoni, Ronnie Peterson, Mike Hailwood, Jean-Pierre Jarier, Patrick Depailler, Jacques Laffite, Jean-Pierre Jabouille, Rene Arnoux, Bruno Giacomelli, Marc Surer, Brian Henton, Geoff Lees, Corrado Fabi, Jonathan Palmer and Mike Thackwell. All of them later had more or less successful F1 careers.

Related Posts