Hamilton wins pole position in Melbourne

March 28, 2015
Featured, News
Alexander S

Lewis Hamilton will begin his title defence from pole position in Australia. Champion was superior in qualifying session at Albert Park circuit leaving his teammate Nico Rosberg at second.


Mercedes dominated as it was expected, but there was very close battle between Ferrari, Williams and Red Bull. On the other side, McLaren struggled again, while Manor Marussia team failed to run, as it was expected. Together with Magnussen and Button, in first qualifying session Marcus Ericsson failed to make another round.




In the second qualifying round, Mercedes’ again were superior leaving rivals almost one second behind. At the back of the grid, battle was more interesting. Both Lotus’ went into the Q3, while the qualifying was finished for Felipe Nasr, Max Verstappen, Daniil Kvyat, Nico Hulkenberg and Sergio Perez.


Third qualifying round begin with Hamilton’s imposing marker of 1:26.419 seconds and Rosberg leaving himself everything to do after running wide at Turn 15.  At that point Vettel was a provisional second, but he was ultimately bumped down to third as Rosberg recovered with 1:26.921 seconds on his final run. Hamilton though slammed home his advantage by improving on his own final effort, which produced a majestic 1:26.327.




Vettel clung to third until the last moment when Massa really got the hammer down for Williams to beat him with 1:26.921. Behind them were Kimi Raikonen at fifth and Valteri Bottas, who made incredible save from mistake at the final corner, at sixth place.


After whole bunch of problems, local hero Daniel Ricciardo must be happy with seventh place at starting grid. Carlos Sainz Junior will start from eighth, while the Lotus pair will be at positions nine and ten.

Full qualifying results:

  1. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) 1:26.327
  2. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes) 1:26.921
  3. Felipe Massa (Williams) 1:27.718
  4. Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari) 1:27.757
  5. Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari) 1:27.790
  6. Valteri Bottas (Williams) 1:28. 087
  7. Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull) 1:28.329
  8. Carlos Sainz Jr. (Toro Rosso) 1:28.510
  9. Romain Grosjean (Lotus) 1:28.560
  10. Pastor Maldonado (Lotus) 1:29.480


  1. Felipe Nasr (Sauber) 1:28.800
  2. Max Verstappen (Toro Rosso) 1:28.868
  3. Daniil Kvyat (Red Bull) 1:29. 070
  4. Nico Hulkenberg (Force India) 1:29.208
  5. Sergio Perez (Force India) 1:29.209


  1. Marcus Ericsson (Sauber) 1:31.376
  2. Jenson Button (McLaren) 1:31.422
  3. Kevin Magnussen (McLaren) 1:32. 037

DNS Will Stevens (Manor Marussia)

DNS Roberto Merhi (Manor Marussia)

Related Posts