Jason Plato will race for Team England at Race of Champions

September 25, 2015
Featured, News
Marijan Malcevic

Jason Plato, double BTCC champion and the most successful racer in British Touring Car Championship history, has become the latest driver in the line-up for 2015 Race of Champions on November 20-21 at London’s former Olympic Stadium. Plato will race for Team England. His partner is yet to be announced.


Jason Plato is one of the most famous faces in UK motorsport, not only because of record number of BTCC victories and two titles (2001 and 2010) but also thanks to his regular appearances on TV. In 2015 BTCC season Plato is involved in the title fight again. He is second in the championship standings with just two events (six races) remaining.


Plato has made two previous appearances at the Race of Champions in 2008 and 2010. On his last visit in 2010, at the Esprit Arena in Düsseldorf, he reached the ROC Nations Cup final alongside another touring car legend Andy Priaulx. They lost in the final against Team Germany’s Sebastian Vettel and Michael Schumacher.




“I’ve always enjoyed my visits to the Race Of Champions and there’s no greater incentive than to look at the drivers who assemble there every year. They are the very best in the world and it’s a privilege to race against them on the same track in identical cars. This has been another good year for me in the BTCC and of course I’ll do everything to make sure I arrive at the Race Of Champions as a three-time champion. I will also look forward to finding out who will be racing with me for Team England. As the home nation I can’t wait to hear the noise of the crowd and I hope we can do them proud”, said Plato.


Along with Plato, other drivers in action at the ROC 2015 include F1 stars Sebastian Vettel, Daniel Ricciardo, Felipe Massa and Nico Hülkenberg, former F1 driver David Coulthard, Le Mans 24 Hours legend Tom Kristensen, reigning FIA Formula E Champion Nelson Piquet Jr, reigning FIA World Rallycross Champion Petter Solberg plus MotoGP world champions Mick Doohan and Jorge Lorenzo.


Photos: raceofchampions.com

Related Posts