Jean Ragnotti as a guest entrant at Renault Sport Trophy finale

October 16, 2015
Featured, News
Marijan Malcevic

Circuito de Jerez will host the World Series by Renault season finale this weekend. The Renault Sport Trophy, Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup and Formula Renault 3.5 Series will be in action with total of eight races in which seven championship titles will be sealed. While the first champions were crowned at previous round at Le Mans, there are still four titles to race for. The most intense situation is in Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup, where no less than eight drivers will battle for the glory.


Louis Delétraz (Josef Kaufmann Racing) comes in as the leader of FR 2.0 Eurocup, but he is on equal points with his team-mate and compatriot Kevin Jörg. Against the Swiss duo, who will try to claim both titles for their team, Jack Aitken (Koiranen GP) is best placed to spoil the party. With his two podium finishes at Jerez last year and the Formula Renault 2.0 Alps title last weekend, the British-Korean driver will also have to keep a close eye on the ambitions of team mate Jake Hughes (Koiranen GP). Four more drivers who have a chance to win the title are Anthoine Hubert (Tech 1 Racing), Ben Barnicoat (Fortec Motorsports), Ukyo Sasahara (ART Junior Team) and Dennis Olsen (Manor MP Motorsport).




In the Formula Renault 3.5 Series Oliver Rowland and his team Fortec Motorsports clinched the titles. Second in points, Matthieu Vaxiviere along with Marlon Stockinger will try to take Lotus to second place in the team classification. All eyes will be riveted on the battle for third place among six drivers including three rookies. Dean Stoneman (DAMS) currently holds the position, but he will have to fend off Nyck de Vries (DAMS), Egor Orudzhev (Arden International), Tom Dillmann (Jagonya Ayam with Carlin), Tio Ellinas (Strakka Racing) and Jazeman Jaafar (Fortec Motorsports).


In the Renault Sport Trophy the titles in Endurance and Prestige class have already been decided, but there are still three drivers in contention to claim the Elite championship. Oregon Team duo David Fumanelli and Dario Capitanio took Endurance title. Capitanio also became Prestige class champion, while Fumanelli is still in the fight for Elite class title. At Le Mans Andrea Pizzitola (ART Junior Team) took the lead from Steijn Schothorst (Equipe Verschuur), but just two points separate them. Fumanelli has 20 points less than S. Schothorst and with 50 points in the game he still win his second title.


Among regular drivers of Renault Sport RS01 will be some renown drivers from other series, like Christian Klien, Nelson Panciatici and Meindert van Buuren, but the biggest star on the track will be legendary rally driver Jean Ragnotti. He will participate in Prestige class for Monlau Competicion.

Related Posts