Jenzer Motorsport - A team of slow but confident progress

  • Jenzer Motorsport
  • Andreas Jenzer

Jenzer Motorsport, founded in 1993, is the racing team from Switzerland which competes in the lower tiers of formula racing.

Early success in the Formula Ford

Jenzer Motorsport was founded by Andreas Jenzer who still was the racing driver when decided to establish the team, to compete in the German Formula Ford 1800 Championship. Already in the first year, Jenzer Motorsport won its first title when Hans Pfeuti became the Swiss Formula Ford 1800 champion. The team continued to race in the Swiss Formula Ford and was a dominant force until 2000. Jenzer Motorsport won the titles on five occasions and their drivers twice were runners-up.

Motorsport formula arjun maini alessio lorandi twitter facebook news teams photos gp3 2017 grand prix

Jenzer Motorsport began its life in Formula Ford

At the same time, Jenzer Motorsport raced with a considerable success in various International Formula Ford 1800 Championships. Iradj Alexander-David twice was the Eurocup vice-champion while Marc Benz in 2000 won the title in the German Championship. In that period, one of the team’s pilots was multiple Le Mans 24h champion Timo Bernhard.

Formula Renault 2.0 Championship was the new challenge

At the beginning of the new century Jenzer Motorsport decided to switch to Formula Renault Series. The team entered various championships and over the years achieved a lot of success. The first title in the series was won by Ryan Sharp in 2003, in the German Formula Renault Championship. Three years later Dani Clos won the title in the Italian Championship while in 2008 Pal Varhaug also won the Italian Formula Renault Championship title.

Motorsport Formula Renault news teams photos arjun maini alessio lorandi twitter grand prix share

Jenzer Motorsport, Formula Renault 2.0

Over the years, many well-known names raced with Jenzer Motorsport in the Formula Renault Series. Le Mans 24h winner Neel Jani was one of them and he was Eurocup runner-up in 2002, while Michael Ammermuller achieved the same result in 2005.

Considerable success in other championships

Apart from the duties in Formula Renault, Jenzer Motorsport was involved in many other minor series. For example, Jani also was Formula Renault V6 Eurocup Championship runner-up in 2003 while Ryan Sharp achieved the same result in the following year.

Fabio Leimer was 2008 International Formula Master vice-champion before winning the title in the following season. In 2005 and 2006 Jenzer Motorsport also competed in the re-branded Formula Renault 3.5 World Series but without too much success.

Motorsport news teams gp3 series maini grand prix email 2017 share new email photos news

Jenzer Motorsport competes in various formula championships

Jenzer Motorsport also won two titles in the Formula Abarth International Championships from 2010 to 2012. The team became involved in the German and Italian Formula 4 championships in 2014 and two years later Marcos Siebert won the title in the Italian Championship.

Since 2010 GP3 Series is the team’s priority

The GP3 Series is one of the best springboards for the talented drivers of single-seaters. That was a good opportunity for Jenzer Motorsport which entered the championship in 2010. The first season was the best so far after the team finished 3rd in the standings while Nico Muller finished at the same position.

Jenzer Motorsport Nico Muller news teams gp3 series maini share new email

Nico Muller, Jenzer Motorsport, GP3 Series

The following season wasn’t as good. Muller dropped to the 4th position while the team was 7th in the Championship. A small step forward was made in 2012 when Jenzer Motorsport moved up to the 4th place while Patric Niederhauser was the best-placed driver after finishing 7th overall, with two race wins on his account.

Period of crisis and revival

In 2013 Jenzer Motorsport began to struggle and until the 2017 Jenzer Motorsport pilots were unable to score a race win. In 2013 and 2014 the team finished 7th in the standings while in the following two seasons was 6th in the standings. In 2016, for the first time in four years, one of the drivers finished in Top 10.

Jenzer Motorsport Arjun Maini GP3 series grand prix share

Arjun Maini wins the GP3 Series race for Jenzer Motorsport at Catalunya Circuit

It was the Indian racer Arjun Maini who finished 10th in the Championship. Maini also was the one who ended winless streak for the team after taking a victory in the 2017 season-opening race at Catalunya Circuit. In the same round, Alessio Lorandi finished 3rd what was an announcement for the good season.

Many famous names were the members of Jenzer Motorsport

Apart from aforementioned drivers, many other well-known names were the members of the Swiss racing squad, including Sergey Sirotkin, Rahel Frey, Bruno Spengler, Oliver Turvey, Roberto Merhi, Simon Trummer, Esteban Guerrieri, etc.

Video – Interview with Andreas Jenzer,,

Related Posts