Junior WRC stays with Citroen in 2016

October 19, 2015
Featured, News
Marijan Malcevic

Citroën Racing will continue to run the FIA Junior WRC in 2016 for the third consecutive season. The format of the championship will remain identical as in 2015, with all drivers at the wheel of a Citroen DS3 R3T Max. An award for the winner will be a six-rally WRC 2 programme in 2017.


The Junior World Rally Championship in the previous years has launched several drivers who reached the top level of world rallying, like Sebastien Loeb, Dani Sordo, Sebastien Ogier, Martin Prokop or Elfyn Evans. Last year champion was Stephane Lefebvre. From 2001 to 2010, Junior WRC drivers competed in different cars. In the following three years, the official car was a Ford Fiesta R2 and from 2014 the official supplier was Citroen.




Quentin Gilbert already secured the 2015 title in Corsica this month with his fourth victory in five rallies. The fight for the runners-up spot will continue at Rally RACC Catalunya – Costa Daurada next weekend (22 – 25 October). This is the penultimate round of the championship, final event will be Wales Rally GB, same as in WRC.


Besides Quentin Gilbert and his co-driver Renaud Jamoul six more crews are on the entry list for the next round in Spain. All six competitors can mathematically finish second, but the biggest favorites are Ole Christian Veiby and Simone Tempestini. Norwegian Veiby, who claimed podiums in Monte-Carlo and Finland, heads Tempestini by five points. The Italian is the only driver to knock Gilbert off top spot, having won in Poland.


Photo: Citroen Racing

Related Posts