Ken Block wins opening round of Global Rallycross Championship

Ex-WRC driver, Gymkhana-YouTube star and King of all Hoonigans Ken Block is the winner of opening round of Red Bull Global Rallycross Championship in Fort Lauderdale. On the circuit at the Bahia Mar Resort Block’s Ford Fiesta crossed the finish-line in front of  Scott Speed‘s Andretti Volkswagen Beetle and Ford Fiesta ST of Nelson Piquet Jr (SH Racing Rallycross).


Block, who finished third in his first heat after an aggressive overtake attempt on Speed put him into the tire barriers, took second place in the second round and converted the front row starting spot into a victory in his semifinal. In the main event, Block immediately grabbed the lead, then extended his gap over the field to take his fourth career Supercar victory.




Twelve drivers competed in Supercar category in the first event of the season. Except three on the podium there were Sebastian Eriksson (Olsbergs – Ford Fiesta), Tanner Foust (Andretti – VW Beetle), Austin Dyne (Bryan Herta Rallysport – Ford Fiesta), Steve Arpin (Chip Ganassi Racing – Ford Fiesta), Victor Gonzalez Jr. (Rhys Millen Racing – Hyundai Veloster), Sverre Isachsen (Subaru Rally Team USA –  WRX STI), Bucky Lasek (Subaru Rally Team USA –  WRX STI), Patrik Sandell (Bryan Herta Rallysport –  Ford Fiesta) and Joni Wiman (Olsbergs – Ford Fiesta).


In GRC Lites category Austin Cindric took a commanding victory in his first race for Olsbergs MSE, winning every on-track session he competed in. The American driver defeated Colombian Alejandro Fernandez and Swede Oliver Eriksson for the crown.


Red Bull Global Rallycross heads to the Circuit of the Americas next for X Games Austin, a non-points, invitational round on the 2015 schedule. The next points-paying event for Red Bull GRC is a doubleheader at Daytona International Speedway on June 19-21.

Related Posts