Category Archive

Renault Alpine A442B Mans 1978 sport 1977 turbo porsche

Renault Alpine A442 – The car that accomplished its mission

April 20, 2017 • Featured, MemoriesAlexander S

The Renault Alpine A442 was a prototype racing car designed and built to contest the Le Mans 24 Hours race in the second half of the 1970s. Built with a task to conquer Le Mans Since early 1970s Alpine and Renault had a fruitful partnership and when the construction of A442 began in 1975, the [...] ...

Read More
Brabham BT52 bmw cars page racing lotus formula turbo

Brabham BT52 – The last minute champion

April 19, 2017 • Featured, MemoriesAlexander S

The Brabham BT52 and its modified version BT52B was a car that in the hands of Brazilian driver Nelson Piquet won the 1983 Formula One World Championship. Deadline was really tight The story of Brabham BT52 is quite interesting. The team already had fully...

Peugeot 307 WRC, 2004 Rally Finland, Marcus Gronholm

Peugeot 307 WRC was the only cabriolet-based World Rally Car

April 15, 2017 • Featured, MemoriesIan McLeigh

The Peugeot 307 WRC is a rally car which competed in the World Rally Championship for only two seasons (2004 and 2005) as a factory entry, replacing the championship-winning Peugeot 206 WRC. The 307 WRC scored three WRC wins in a hands of Marcus Gronholm,...

Williams FW19 Renault cars

Williams FW19 – The last champion from Grove

April 14, 2017 • Featured, MemoriesAlexander S

The Williams FW19 Renault was the car which in 1997 won the last Formula One World Championship title for the Grove based team. During the 1980s and 1990s, Williams was one of the dominant teams in Formula One but the period of success ended in 1997. That...

Zytek Z11SN,Greaves Motorsport, 2011

Zytek Z11SN – three titles and two Le Mans wins in just six years of running

April 13, 2017 • Featured, MemoriesIan McLeigh

The Zytek Z11SN is an LMP2 class open-top racing prototype which has been built by Zytek Engineering (now Gibson Technology) between 2011 and 2016. The car scored LMP2 class victory at 24 hours of Le Mans in 2011 by Greaves Motorsport, also winning the 2011...

Nissan NPT-90 1990

Nissan NPT-90 – the last Nissan to win IMSA championship title

April 9, 2017 • Featured, MemoriesIan McLeigh

The Nissan NPT-90 is a race car, developed by Nissan Performance Technology Incorporated (NPTI), which debuted in the 1990 IMSA GT Championship as a successor of the championship-winning GTP ZX-Turbo. NPT-90 captured two manufacturers’ championship...

Williams FW16 1994 Ayrton Senna Renault grand prix race imola

Williams FW16 – A car that has overcome many troubles

April 6, 2017 • Featured, MemoriesAlexander S

The Williams FW16 was the a that won the Constructors’ title for the Rothmans Williams team in 1994 Formula One World Championship. Built to meet new regulations The car designed by Adrian Newey and Patrick Head was the successor of the highly successful...

Vauxhall Astra Coupe, 2001 BTCC, Jason Plato

Vauxhall Astra Coupe – the most successful Vauxhall in the BTCC

March 29, 2017 • Featured, MemoriesIan McLeigh

The Vauxhall Astra Coupe, built according to BTC-T specifications, is one of the most successful race cars in the history of the British Touring Car Championship. The car was a victorious weapon in the hands of Triple Eight Racing team, which operated...

Ferrari F399

Ferrari F399 – A car that ended the drought for the Italian team

March 28, 2017 • Featured, MemoriesAlexander S

The Ferrari F399 was the car that won the 1999 Formula One Constructors’ Championship title for the Italian team after 16 years. End of the inglorious record Until 1999, the most popular F1 team struggled for more than one decade and was unable to compete...

Jordan 191 formula 1991 race grand prix time year

Jordan 191 – A car that Schumacher drove on his F1 debut

March 24, 2017 • Featured, MemoriesAlexander S

The Jordan 191 was the first car constructed by Jordan team that later became famous after Michael Schumacher drove it on his debut in Formula 1. New team needed a new car When he ended his modest racing career, Irishman Eddie Jordan decided to set up his own...