Mercedes AMG team

AMG Mercedes is part of DTM since the start of new DTM championship in 2000 and was very successfull at the beginning of new competition. Mercedes had champion cars in five of first seven seasons and also won six of seven Constructors’ championships. In total, Mercedes took six Drivers’ and nine Constructors’ championship after series revival.


Counting from the beginning of the cooperation with Mercedes in 1988, when competition was named Deutsche Tourenwagen Meisterschaft, AMG is most successful team in DTM history with 160 race wins, 10 driver’s titles and 15 constructor titles.


Bernd Schneider was champion in 2000, 2001, 2003 and 2006, Gary Paffett won the title in 2005, while Paul Di Resta was best in 2010. Except that, Mercedes drivers 10 times were runner-ups: Uwe Alzen (2001), Bernd Schneider (2002), Christijan Albers (2003), Gary Paffett (2004, 2009, 2010, 2012), Bruno Spengler (2006, 2007) and Paul Di Resta (2008).




AMG Mercedes also had a female driver. Susie (Stoddart) Wolff has competed from 2006 until 2012 and her best result was ninth place in overall standings in her debut season.


AMG Mercedes in the first four seasons of new DTM was represented with CLK model. From 2004 until 2011 on tracks were C-Class cars which scored 84 victories in 156 races to become the most successful vehicle in the history of DTM and finally in 2011 C-Coupe was designed to meet the new and improved safety concept for 2012, which includes a state-of-the-art carbon fibre monocoque and a roll cage made of high strength steel.




But, this model struggle to make impact. When BMW in 2012 returned in DTM after 20 years of absence, Mercedes was slowed down. Probably, that was partly result of manufacturer’s decision to form a fabric team in Formula 1 and switch more attention to that competition.


AMG Mercedes in 2013 and 2014 even failed to field line-up of eight cars, but that will be changed in 2015 after ART Grand Prix joined DTM with two AMG Mercedes C-Class.

Related Posts