Muller beats Lopez for pole position

  • Citroen WTCC

Yvan Muller will start from pole position at World Touring Car Championship race in Moscow. Citroen driver in the final qualifying round beat his team mate and championship leader Jose Maria Lopez with a margin of just 0.046 seconds.


After first qualifying round Mehdi Bennani, Tom Coronel, Stefano D’Aste, Gregoire Demoustier, Rickard Rydell and John Filippi were eliminated, while Yvan Muller was the fastest with 1:37.900 lap time followed by Gabriele Tarquini and Jose Maria Lopez.


After pitting for the new tyres, in the second 10 minutes qualifying round “Pechito” Lopez took the reigns with 1:38.089 and qualified for the last round together with team mate Yvan Muller and Gabriele Tarquini, Rob Huff and Tom Chilton.


It was disappointing session for Sebastien Loeb finishing 11th, just in front of Jaap van Lagen. Pole position for the second race on Sunday won Tiago Monteiro as he finished 10th in the Q2 and remaining place in the first starting row for the race two on Sunday won rookie Nicky Catsburg in Lada.




In the last qualifying round for the first time ths season all four manufacturers were represented. Home crowd should be happy as the local Lada Sport team with Rob Huff behind a wheel took a fourth place. Citroen confirmed his supremacy, but this time C-Elysees didn’t looked so superior.


Honda’s veteran Gabriele Tarquini was third, 0.168 seconds behind Muller, while fifth place and one point for the classification won Tom Chilton in Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1.


Check the full results at SnapLap results page!

Related Posts