Regulation changes in WTCC

March 27, 2015
Alexander S

  • WTCC racing

World Touring Car Championship 2015 season will start at the first weekend in March with changes in the regulations and with a new host of the race in Japan.


The key changes are removal of the TC2T class for older Super 2000 cars, and a limit on the number of driver changes for full season entrants.


Teams like Liqui Moly Team Engstler and Campos Racing in the previous season used pre 2014 cars for the full year, but until now Championship is reserved just for the current generation of Super 2000 cars, or TC1 class.


The change of article 48 of the sporting regulations adds the clause which says that only two driver changes will be allowed during the season. Any change will be validated under discretion of the stewards. Although this wasn’t seen much in 2014 as the manufacturer teams preferring standard line-ups, in TC2T class drivers changes were more common.


The regulations remain open to allow TCN (national) touring cars to compete with the approval of the Touring Car Committee. The last such entrant under these rules was Yukinori Taniguchi at the Hungaroring last season, driving the STCC homologated Honda Civic test car.




After four successful years at Suzuka, Twin Ring Motegi will host Japan’s round of the WTCC after promoter Mobilityland Corp. made an agreement with WTCC promoter Eurosport Events Ltd. This oval layout is bulit in 1997 by Honda and is 4.8 kilometres long. Twin Ring Motegi already stages MotoGP’s races and is one of the five new tracks for the WTCC 2015 season.


“We genuinely think WTCC has found its home in Japan at Motegi. MotoGP tracks usually deliver high-quality touring car races and we are certain that the Motegi layout will offer close racing and significant overtaking opportunities“, said Francois Ribeiro, WTCC General manager.


WTCC free practice and qualifying at Twin Ring Motegi will take place on 12th of September with both races held on Sunday, 13th of September.

Related Posts