Simona De Silvestro and Sakon Yamamoto new faces in Formula E

June 15, 2015
Marijan Malcevic

At grand finale of first ever FIA Formula E Championship, on 27/28 June at London, we will see some new faces in electric formula racing, but familiar from some other racing series. Andretti Autosport’s IndyCar driver Simona de Silvestro will compete in electric single-seater of Andretti Formula E Team, while Amlin Aguri hired ex-F1 driver Sakon Yamamoto.


Experienced Swiss Simona de Silvestro will be third female driver in inaugural Formula E season. At the start of the season Katherine Legge raced two times for Amlin Aguri and Michela Cerruti had a four appearances in Jarno Trulli’s team. De Silvestro will drive for the Andretti FE team alongside Jean-Eric Vergne, and while it will be her first race in the all-electric championship, it won’t be the first time she has driven the Spark-Renault SRT_01E as she performed a demonstration run in Geneva earlier this year. In 2015 De Silvestro had three races in IndyCar Series, including Indy500 in May.


Formula One World Championship


De Silvestro will not be the only driver change for the season finale, as Amlin Aguri needs to hire a replacement for Antonio Felix da Costa who is on DTM duty that weekend, while there will also be a change at Trulli as Vitantonio Liuzzi also has clashing commitments. We still don’t know who will replace Liuzzi, Amlin Aguri announced that reserve driver will be Japanese Sakon Yamamoto.


32-years old ex-Formula 1 driver last time raced in 2010 for Hispania Racing F1 Team. He recorded seven races in 2010 season, best placed 15th at Korean Grand Prix. Before that he competed for Spyker F1 Team in 2007 and Super Aguri F1 Team in 2006. In total he had 21 races in Formula 1.