TCR Europe: the Trophy becomes a Series in 2018

November 24, 2017
Featured, News
Marijan Malcevic

  • TCR Europe Trophy becomes TCR Europe Series
  • TCR Europe Trophy becomes TCR Europe Series

The TCR Europe Trophy will be upgraded to TCR Europe Series in 2018. The new competition under TCR rules will be run over six race meetings at famous circuits all over the Europe: Circuit Paul Ricard, Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps, Hungaroring, TT Circuit Assen, Autodromo Nazionale Monza and Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya.

The TCR Europe Trophy was first held in 2016, using events of the existing TCR national series in Benelux, Germany, Italy, Spain, Portugal and Russia. The first winner was Pierre-Yves Corthals, who was driving an Opel Astra for DG Sport Competition. This year, the Trophy was held at a one-off event at the Adria International Raceway. DG Sport was again the winning team, with Aurelien Comte at the wheel of a Peugeot 308.

TCR Europe Trophy becomes TCR Europe Series

The inaugural season of the TCR Europe Series will be run at six circuits

In 2018, the TCR Europe Series will became the third regional series for TCR cars, next to existing TCR Asia and TCR Middle East. The event format will feature the Qualifying session split into Q1 and Q2, and two 25-minute races with standing starts and a top-ten reverse grid for Race 2.

2018 TCR Europe Series – calendar

6th May – Le Castellet
10th June – Spa-Francorchamps
8th July – Hungaroring
19th August – TT Assen
23rd September – Monza
21st October – Barcelona

Photos: TCR Europe,

Related Posts