V8 Supercars - Tasmania: Shane Van Gisbergen scores 500th win for Holden

  • Shane Van Gosbergen

Shane Van Gisbergen (Triple Eight Engineering/Red Bull Racing Australia) is the winner of the first race of the Tasmania SuperSprint at Symmons Plains circuit. After three wins in four non-championship races at Albert Park Van Gisbergen continued his winning streak and scored 500th win for Holden in V8 Supercars Championship.

Shane Van Gisbergen

Shane scored fourth V8 Supercars win in 2016

1-2 victory for Red Bull Racing Australia

Not only Shane had a good day but the whole team can be extra satisfy because Jamie Whincup finished second, in the narrow finish with 0.9388s gap behind the winner. One more Holden, the #19 Commodore driven by Will Davison (Tekno Autosports) took the podium.

Rick Kelly finished fourth with Nissan Altima, ahead of Holdens driven by Craig Lowndes (Triple Eight) and Jason Bright (Brad Jones Racing). The best place Ford driver was Cameron Waters in the seventh place. Defending champion Mark Winterbottom, who started from pole, finished ninth.

Shane Van Gisbergen

The #97 Commodore of Shane van Gisbergen was again fastest in the field

Early pit stops shook up the order

Winterbottom led in a beginning of the 50-lap race but the first round of pit stops changed the order. Jamie Whincup pitted on Lap 4 and jumped from fifth place into the lead. He led until the Lap 18, when he went too wide at the hairpin and Van Gisbergen passed him.

Three cars of the Triple Eight Race Engineering were in the front until Lap 34, when Will Davison overtook Lowndes for third spot. Lowndes later lost one more place from Rick Kelly. Scott McLaughlin’s Volvo crossed the finish line with 10 laps less than the leading pack, after he was forced to pit in a very first lap because of engine problems.

Check the full results from Symmons Plains circuit

Photos: Red Bull Racing Australia, Red Bull Content Pool,

Related Posts