World RX entry list revealed - who is who, who is new

  • 2016 World RX, race

The entry list for the opening round of the 2016 World Rallycross Championship at Montalegre has been revealed. 23 Supercar drivers will compete in Portugal on April 15-17, with 33 cars in a supporting S1600 category.

Seven teams announced full-season entry for 2016 and there were lots of changes in the driver line-ups. Reigning world champion Petter Solberg again will compete with his own team’s #1 Citroen DS3 but this year without teammates. His last year’s teammate, the ‘British Bomb’ Liam Doran, joined JRM Racing and he will drive Mini RX in Portugal.

Team Peugeot Hansen, World RX 2016

Team Hansen and Peugeot will be represented with four drivers

Four-driver line-up of Team Peugeot-Hansen

Team Peugeot-Hansen, which defends the teams’ world title, hired nine-time World Rally Champion Sebastien Loeb as a new teammate to last year’s runner-up Timmy Hansen. The team will have two more 208 RX Supercars under the banner of the Peugeot Hansen Academy for Davy Jeanney and RX Lites Cup champion Kevin Hansen.

Volkswagen RX Sweden will continue the cooperation with Kristoffersson Motorsport and Johan Kristoffersson will remain in the cockpit of the #3 Volkswagen Polo. His new teammate is Anton Marklund, who left EKS team.

World RX 2016, EKS RX, Ekstrom, Heikkinen

Topi Heikkinen joined Mattias Ekstrom in EKS RX team

Heikkinen joined Ekstrom, Austrian team hired two new drivers

EKS team owner Mattias Ekstrom made an agreement with Toomas Topi Heikkinen and both of them will race with Red Bull-sponsored Audi S1. One more Audi on the entry list is privately entered Audi A1 of Robin Larsson.

As we already published, the World RX Team Austria has signed Latvia’s Janis Baumanis and Russia’s Timur Timerzyanov. The pair will be joined in Portugal by team boss Max Pucher in a third Ford Fiesta.

World RX 2016, Andreas Bakkerud, Ken Block

Andreas Bekkerid and Ken Block will drive brand new Ford Focus RS RX Supercar

Bakkerud partner to Ken Block, all-new line-up for Olsbergs MSE

Olsbergs MSE will continue to run Fiestas but with two new drivers compared to last year. The newcomers are Kevin Eriksson and Niclas Gronholm, the son of double world rally champ Marcus Gronholm.

Last year’s Olsbergs’ driver Andreas Bakkerud joined American Ken Block in the Hoonigan Racing Division team. They are supported by Ford Performance and will drive brand new Ford Focus RS RX Supercars.

2016 World RX, Reinis Nitiss

Reinis Nitiss is coming to Montalegre with Seat Ibiza RX Supercar

Brand new Seat Ibiza debuting in Portugal

One more completely new rallycross car is coming in colours of the Munnich Motorsport team. They will introduce Seat Ibiza Supercars in Montalegre, in the hands of Reinis Nitiss and team boss Rene Munnich.

Other notable entries for Montalegre are Jean Baptiste Dubourg with DA Racing’s Citroen DS3, Joaquim Santos with Bompiso Racing’s Ford Focus and Bohdan Ludwiczak with his own Mitsubishi Lancer.


Related Posts