WRC is expanding (returning) to China in 2016

October 1, 2015
Featured, News
Marijan Malcevic

  • 2015 China Beijing Rally

China will return to the World Rally Championship for the first time since 1999 after the FIA yesterday approved a 14-round calendar for 2016. Other 13 countries in the calendar remained unchanged as in 2015, but FIA still has to confirm dates within the next few weeks.


China’s confirmation is subject to fulfilling FIA requirements following candidate event Beijing Huairou Rally, which was held in August as third round of Chinese Rally Championship. Original China Rally, which was the part of World Rally Championship just once, is still existing as a part of Asia-Pacific Rally Championship, but FIA choose other event to include into the WRC.


Back in 1999, when China Rally was a part of WRC, winner was Didier Auriol with Toyota Corolla WRC, ahead Richard Burns (Subaru Impreza WRC) and Carlos Sainz (Toyota Corolla WRC). Prior to that Colin McRae won in 1997 and 1998, when the event was part of APRC.


Related Posts