WTCC: Muller wins last race, Michelisz claims trophy

Winner of the WTCC race 2 in Qatar, final race of the season, is Citroen driver Yvan Muller. After clinching sixth victory in 2015 Frenchman also won second place in Drivers’ championship.


John Filippi had pole position for race 2, while Yvan Muller, Ma Qing Hua and Norbert Michelisz were behind him after Tom Coronel, who had to start from second position, was forced to retire before start due to oil leaking from his Lada. This race was the last for Sebastien Loeb after two seasons spent in the series.


Soon after the start, safety car was deployed after accident which involved Stefano D’Aste and Rob Huff, while leader Filippi was under investigation for a jump start. But, after the restart, Filippi was out after losing battle with Muller who took leading position.




Most interesting battle in the final race of the season was the one for Yokohama Drivers’ Trophy between Michelisz and Bennani, but also battle for vice-champion position in the Drivers’ championship between Loeb and Muller. Finishing third, Hungarian Michelisz in Honda secured title for independent entrants, his second in career, while former champion Muller beat Loeb to finish season as runner-up, just like in 2014.




In the Yokohama Teams’ Trophy ROAL Motorsport wins the title in front of Campos Racing and Zengo Motorsport.


Check the full results at SnapLap results page!



Related Posts