41 Cars on The Entry List for 2019 European Le Mans Series

February 12, 2019
Featured, News
Marijan Malcevic

  • European Le Mans Series 2019 grid
  • European Le Mans Series pitwalk

The provisional entry list for the 2019 European Le Mans Series season has been revealed with a full grid of 41 cars across the three classes – LMP2, LMP3 and GTE. There will be 32 prototypes (18 LMP2 and 14 LMP3) plus nine LMGTE entries.

For the first time in ELMS history, the organisers received more entries than available places and a selection process was made to fill the slots on the grid. Following the decision made at the end of last season, the grid size has been limited to 41 cars for the 2019 season due to the amount of space that is available in some of the pitlanes at the circuits visited by the ELMS.


Eighteen LMP2 cars will participate in 2019 ELMS season

Fourteen teams, eighteen cars in the LMP2 class

Eighteen cars in the LMP2 class (11 Orecas, 6 Ligiers, 1 Dallara) are coming from fourteen teams, including the 2018 ELMS champions G-Drive Racing. The leading driver would be Roman Rusinov again. Eight other teams are returning to the competition in the LMP2 class: High Class Racing, DragonSpeed, United Autosports, Panis Barthez Competition, Algarve Pro Racing, IDEC Sport, Duqueine Engineering, Graff.

They are joined by four teams moving up from LMP3 class, including 2018 class champions RLR MSport and reigning champion John Farano. The other three teams are Inter Europol Competition, Cool Racing and BHK Motorsport. The 14th team on the grid would be Carlin, which joins ELMS for the first time.


The ELMS LMP3 grid will have fourteen cars

Ten teams, fourteen cars in the LMP3 class

In the LMP3 class, ten teams are entering the entry-level Le Mans Prototypes competition with 14 cars, ten Ligier JS P3 and four Norma M30. The 2018 LMP3 champions RLR MSport will be defending their title, running their Ligier P3 car alongside their new LMP2 Oreca.

Eight other teams will also be returning to the LMP3 grid in 2019 – United Autosports, 360 Racing, Nielsen Racing, Oregon Team, Eurointernational, Inter Europol Competition, Ultimate and M Racing.  Graff will be back in LMP3 class, this year racing under the banner of Realteam Racing.

ELMS GTE Ferrari and Porsche

Five Ferraris will race against four Porsches in the GTE class

Five Ferraris against four Porsches in the GTE class

The nine-car full season entry list is the biggest in the LMGTE category since 2014. Same as in 2108, just two brands will be represented – Ferrari and Porsche. The Italian manufacturer will have five F488 GTEs on the grid while the German sports car manufacturer will have four 911 RSRs.

Reigning 2018 champions Proton Competition will run two Porsche cars. One of two cars will run under the Dempsey-Proton Racing banner. Team Project 1, which runs Porsche in the FIA WEC, will also have one car in the ELMS. The fourth Porsche will have Ebimotors colors.

JMW Motorsport and Spirit of Race are returning to the ELMS with Ferrari and will be joined by two cars from Kessel Racing, including the all-female crew in the #83 Ferrari. The final entry will be Luzich Racing, in cooperation with Spirit of Race.

European Le Mans Series

Forty-one crews will participate in the 2019 ELMS season

The quality of the grid reflects the importance of championship

Pierre Fillon, President of the Automobile Club de l’Ouest said: “It is with great satisfaction that the ACO continues to see how attractive the European Le Mans Series has become, fulfilling perfectly its role in the endurance ladder to which we are committed. The quality of the grid reflects perfectly the importance of this championship.”

Gerard Neveu, CEO European Le Mans Series added: “Once again the European Le Mans Series continues to attract the leading European race teams, underlining its position as the world’s leading continental endurance racing series. With a large, high quality, entry in the LMP2 category this season, we will invite not only the LMP2 ELMS Championship winning team to the 2020 24 Hours of Le Mans but also the vice-champions from this year’s series. So combined with the invitation to the LMP3 champions and the top two teams in the LMGTE class, the European Le Mans Series will have five guaranteed entries in next year’s race on the full La Sarthe circuit in June 2020.”

The 2019 ELMS season will kick-off with the 4 Hours of Le Castellet on April 14. The six-event championship will then visit Monza, Barcelona, Silverstone and Spa, with a great finale scheduled for October 27 at Portimao.

2019 ELMS calendar

2019 ELMS calendar

2019 European Le Mans Series entry list

ClassNumberTeamCarLeading driver
LMP220High Class RacingOreca 07-GibsonAnders Fjordbach
21DragonspeedOreca 07-GibsonHenrik Hedman
22United AutosportsLigier JS P217-GibsonPhil Hanson
23Panis Barthez CompetitionLigier JS P217-GibsonRene Binder
24Panis Barthez CompetitionLigier JS P217-GibsonTimothe Buret
25Algarve Pro RacingOreca 07-GibsonMark Patterson
26G-Drive RacingOreca 07-GibsonRoman Rusinov
27IDEC SportLigier JS P217-GibsonPatrice Lafargue
28IDEC SportOreca 07-GibsonPaul Lafargue
29Duqueine EngineeringOreca 07-GibsonNicolas Jamin
31Algarve Pro RacingOreca 07-GibsonHenning Enqvist
32United AutosportsLigier JS P217-GibsonRyan Cullen
34Inter Europol CompetitionLigier JS P217-GibsonJakub Smiechowski
35BHK MotorsportOreca 07-GibsonFrancesco Dracone
37Cool RacingOreca 07-GibsonAlexandre Coigny
39GraffOreca 07-GibsonTristan Gommendy
43RLR MsportOreca 07-GibsonJohn Farano
45CarlinDallara P217-GibsonJack Manchester
LMP32United AutosportsLigier JS P3-NissanMike Guasch
3United AutosportsLigier JS P3-NissanGarett Grist
5360 RacingLigier JS P3-NissanJames Dayson
6360 RacingLigier JS P3-NissanTerrence Woodward
7Nielsen RacingLigier JS P3-NissanAnthony Wells
8Nielsen RacingLigier JS P3-NissanNobuya Yamanaka
9Realteam RacingNorma M30-NissanEsteban Garcia
10Oregon TeamNorma M30-NissanDamiano Fioravanti
11EurointernationalLigier JS P3-NissanAndrea Dromedari
13Inter Europol CompetitionLigier JS P3-NissanMartin Hippe
14Inter Europol CompetitionLigier JS P3-NissanPaul Scheuschner
15RLR MsportLigier JS P3-NissanMartin Vedel Mortensen
17UltimateNorma M30-NissanMathieu Lahaye
19M RacingNorma M30-NissanLaurent Millara
GTE51Luzich RacingFerrari F488 GTETBA
55Spirit of RaceFerrari F488 GTEDuncan Cameron
56Project 1Porsche 911 RSREgidio Perfetti
60Kessel RacingFerrari F488 GTEClaudio Schiavoni
66JMW MotorsportFerrari F488 GTEJeff Segal
77Dempsey-Proton RacingPorsche 911 RSRRichard Lietz
80EbimotorsPorsche 911 RSRFabio Babini
83Kessel RacingFerrari F488 GTEManuela Gostner
88Proton CompetitionPorsche 911 RSRMatteo Cairoli

Photos: ELMS, Jakob Ebrey Photography,

Affiliate Disclosure: Pages on this site may include affiliate links to Amazon and its affiliate sites on which the owner of this website make a referral commission.

Related Posts